Skip to main content

Film Studies Resource Guide: Dictionaries and Film Interpretation

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias:

The Film Encyclopedia

Reference PN1993.43.K34 2001

The Grey House Performing Arts Directory

Reference PN1561.G74 2001

The American Film Industry: a historical dictionary.
Reference PN1993.5. U6 S539 1986

Cinema: a critical dictionary.
Reference PN1993.45. C5

The Faber companion to foreign films.
Reference PN1993.45.k34 1998

The Film Handbook.
Reference PN1998.2.A64 1990

Hallwell's Film, Video &DVD Guide

Reference PN1993.45.H27 2006

Magill's Survey of Cinema: English Language Films 2nd series.
Reference PN1993.45.M31

Magill's Survey of Cinema: Foreign Language Films.
Reference PN1995.9.F67 M34 1985

Magill's Survey of Cinema: Silent Films.

Reference PN1995.75.M33 1982

The Movie Book List.  Reference
Reference PN1997.8.A76 1990

The New York Times Encyclopedia of Film, 1896-1979.
Reference PN1993.45.N4 1984

The Oxford Companion to Film
Reference PN1993.45.B3

 

Reviews

Film Review Annual.

Reference PN1995.F4651

Film Review Index
Reference PN1995.F467

Media Review Digest.
Reference Z5784.M89 M81

The Motion Picture Guide. 
Reference PN1993.M4334

New York Times Film Reviews.
Reference PN1995.4

Variety Film Reviews.
Reference PN1995 .V37

Bibliographies

Film: A Reference Guide
Reference PN1993.45.A75

Film Researcher's Handbook
Reference PN1994 .F438 1996

The Macmillan Film Bibliography.
Reference PN1993.5.A1 R4

On the Screen: a film, television, and video research guide.
Reference PN1994.F57 1986

Film Interpretation