Skip to main content
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Libraries

Chemistry Resources: Articles

A guide to SU Library chemistry resources.

Database Information

What is a database?

A database is a collection of information with tools to find what you need. Library databases are collections of articles from many different sources with tools that make searching easy.


Why should I use databases?

Databases make for very efficient searching and save you time!

The databases will either provide you with the full text articles or provide SULinks to search the SU catalog for the article. If you still can't find the article you can request it through InterLibrary Loan (ILL)!


Peer-review? Scholarly?

Peer-reviewed or refereed articles have been reviewed by a panel of experts prior to publication in scholarly publications. Think of this like quality control for journal articles. Many databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles or scholarly journals. Consult the database Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory to confirm a publication (check the journal name) is peer-reviewed. 


Primary source?

Primary scientific literature contains original research and is often the first reporting of this scientific data.  Find these types of articles in peer-reviewed journals.

Chemistry Article Databases

Read Articles

Would you like to READ the article you've found?  Choose 'Full-text', "Read at Publisher' or SULinks options, depending on the database.SULinks

If that doesn't work, try the article title "in quotation marks" in Google Scholar - but set up your 'Library Links' within Google Scholar settings first!

Cite Articles

See the Citation Management page for information and instructions. We support citation managers including RefWorks, EndNote and Zotero.