Skip to main content

Drama Resources: Articles & Essays

Full Text Databases

 

The resources in this list, are, for the most part, databases of full-text articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other reference works. Some may only offer full-text for a portion of their coverage.

  • Humanities Full Text
    Full-text access to articles in journals covering Communications, Folklore, Gender Studies, Journalism, Literary & Social Criticism, and Literature. Titles include American Literary Realism, Folklore Forum, Frontiers: A Journal of Women's Studies, Narrative, Public Culture, StoryQuarterly, and Transition: An International Review.

  • JSTOR
    Full-text articles from over 1,300 journals in Language and Literature, African American Studies, Film Studies, British Studies, and Folklore and many other areas. Titles include Contemporary Literature, Early American Literature, The Journal of American Folklore, Journal of Modern Literature, NOVEL: A Forum on Fiction, and Twentieth Century Literature.

  • Literature Online (LION)
    Full-text of more than 350,000 works of creative writing, literary nonfiction, and literary criticism. Searchable by author, title, genre, movement, school, and period.  Includes original texts, criticism, and multimedia content.

  • Project Muse
    Full-text online access to all journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press.

  • Drama/Film Studies:
  • International Index to the Performing Arts in Full-Text  Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry:  i.e., dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic.

Literature, including Drama:

 
British Humanities Index BHI indexes over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as newspapers published in the UK. Articles on theatre in Great Britain and Ireland.

Gale Literary Databases  Search Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography together or separately.   Biographical Information on nearly 100,000 authors, including dramatists, as well as critical reaction to their works.

Humanities Full Text  1984-present.  Indexes periodicals in a wide range of Humanities disciplines, including Drama.  Good thematic indexing:  e.g., POLITICAL PLAYS, SCIENCE AND DANCE. Most articles in English.  Includes play reviews.

Literature Online (LION)   Click on this link to get to the LION Welcome screen.  LION encompasses a large number of resources, including author biographies and bibliographies; citations to literary scholarship (and the full text of some articles); entire literary works; and links to literary resources on the Web.

 

MLA Bibliography  1963-present.  Scholarly publications worldwide in literature, drama, linguistics, film studies, and folklore.

Play Index  Index to more than 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present; includes mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama.