Skip to main content

Drama Resources: Reference Works

Find a Reference Book

Not everything is online. Reference Universe shows you which of over 20,000 reference books on our shelves mention your topic.

Enter your search terms:

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Guides in Print

Journal Literature and Reviews of Research:

American Literary Scholarship:  An Annual
REF PS 3 .A47 
A series of bibliographic essays by scholars reviewing the state of literary scholarship for major individual American authors, American period and genre studies, reference books, etc. The section on "Drama" is oriented toward critical theory, but has subsections on major American dramatists: e.g., Eugene O'Neill, Tennessee Williams, Arthur Miller. ALS available electronically beginning in 1998.

Carpenter, Charles A.  Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism 1966-1980:  An International Bibliography.
REF PN 1851 .C37 1986

-----------.  Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism 1981-1990:  An International Bibliography.
REF PN 1851 .C37 1997

These volumes provide a checklist of significant scholarship on all aspects of world drama since Ibsen.  Bibliographic references are arranged by nationality (e.g., French drama, Polish drama). Index to playwrights at front of each volume.

 

The Year's Work in English Studies 
REF PE 58 .E6 
Latest five years located in the reference stacks on the first floor of Bird Library. Annual collection of signed bibliographic essays, surveying the year's scholarship in English and American literature.  Subsections on drama in period (e.g., Renaissance, Romantic, Victorian), American, and "New Literatures in English" sections.  The Year's Work in English Studies available electronically beginning in 1996.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias:

Cambridge Guide to American Theatre.
REF PN 2220 .C35 1993 
Includes an introductory survey of American drama "from the beginning to the present."  Signed articles on performers, dramatists, directors, set designers, plays, companies, theatrical forms and movements.  Covers such popular entertainments as circus, vaudeville, magic, burlesque, etc.

Gänzl, Kurt. The Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre
ML102.M88 G3 2001 Fine Arts Ready Reference.
Provides the source (play, novel, movie, etc.) of a musical and traces the history of its development.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance.
REF PN 2035 .O94 2003
Brief articles by scholars on national and regional theatre, social theories and issues, theatre companies and festivals, biographies, etc. Performance is broadly defined to include live entertainment (Wild West shows, cabaret) and para-theatrical activities (tango, parades, public executions).

Oxford Companion to Canadian Theatre
REF PN 2300 .O94 1989  
Essays on French, English, and Native Canadian theatre. 

Oxford Companion to the Theatre
REF PN 2035 .H3 1983.

Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre
REF PN 2035 .C63 1992 
Offers definitions of terms, sketches of theater personalities of all periods, descriptions of theatre companies, and profiles of theatre in individual countries.  Reworks and updates material from earlier title.

World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre
REF PN 1861 .W67 1994. 
Vol. 1:  Europe;  Vol. 2: Americas;  Vol 3:  Africa;  Vol. 4: The Arab World;  Vol. 5:  Asia/Pacific.  Profiles of individual countries include essays on such topics as "Music Theatre"; "Theatre Space and Architecture"; "Training"; and "Criticism, Scholarship and Publishing."

Criticism:  Compilations/Excerpts:  

Contemporary Literary Criticism:  Criticism of the Works of Today's Novelists, Poets, Playwrights, Short Story Writers, Scriptwriters, and Other Creative Writers
PN 86 .C6 
Selected excerpts from critical writings on authors who are living or who died in 1960 or thereafter.  Cumulative author, topic, nationality, and title indexes.  An abridged version available through Gale Literary Databases.

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism:  Criticism of the Works of Novelists, Poets, Playwrights, Short Story Writers, and Other Creative Writers Who Lives Between 1900 and 1999, from the First Published Critical Appraisals to Current Evaluations.
PN 94 .T83 
Chronologically arranged excerpts from critical studies of 20th century figures.  Valuable for researchers interested in contemporary responses to a work.  Cumulative author, topic, nationality and title indexes.