Skip to main content

Resources for Writing Program Instructors & TAs: Media

This guide contains links to resources that will be helpful to Writing Program TAs and their students in their WRT 105 and WRT 205 assignments.

On this list...

Use the databases on these lists to locate full-text articles, essays, and data for research and writing projects.

Photojournalism and Image Resources

    • AP Images
      AP Images is one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. Access Note: Ten simultaneous users only (though it should be available off campus as long as fewer than 10 SU users are logged in).

 

  • ARTstor
    Collection of 300,000 images for use in the teaching and study of art, architecture and archaeology. Specialized image collections include Asian art, Native American art and culture from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America.

    Google Magazines
    Many easily accessible images and advertisements in the magazines archived by the Google Books Project. They're full color and the text is indexed, so you can search by keyword, subject, or product. 
    • Flickr.com
      One of the largest online photo-sharing communities. Provides searchable access to photos from the general public as well as institutional collections in the flickr commons.

 

    • Library PressDisplay
      Library PressDisplay provides full page image access to over 240 newspapers representing more than 50 countries. Users can search across papers, or view a paper page by page. Coverage includes a rolling 60 day backfile.

 

    • Life Magazine Photography Archives hosted by Google
      Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

 


  • Vintage Ad Browser
    Another replacement for adflip. Aggregates and links to vintage advertising imagery all over the internet.

 

Audio Resources

Video Collections

    • Television News Archive
      Archive of television news. The collection holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, FoxNews and more than 9,000 hours of special news- related programming including ABC: 1968 - present, CBS: 1968 - present, NBC: 1968 - present, CNN: 1995 - present, FoxNews: 2004 - present. Syracuse University Library is a sponsoring institution of the Television News Archive. RealMedia or Real Alternative is required to view online video content in this resource.

    • CBC Archive
      This free site features thousands of radio and television clips from the archives of the Canadian Broadcast Corporation, organized by topic and period.

    • WGBH OpenVault
      Open Vault provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by public television station WGBH for individual and classroom learning. The ever-expanding site contains video excerpts, searchable transcripts, a select number of complete interviews for purchase, and resource management tools.

    • Factiva
      Click "simple search" and select All Multimedia for transcribed programming with audio and video clips from a variety of news sources.

    • The Prelinger Video Archive at Archive.org
      Prelinger Archives was founded in 1983 by Rick Prelinger in New York City. Over the next twenty years, it grew into a collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. In 2002, the film collection was acquired by the Library of Congress, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division. Its goal remains to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere. Included are films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions.

    • CNN Archives
      You can easily access archived footage from CNN.com with the following google query: keyword site:archives.cnn.com; for example "gun control" site:archives.cnn.com
    •  
    • British Pathe
      Previews of items from the entire 3500 hour British Pathe Film Archive which covers news, sport, social history and entertainment from 1896 to 1970.This site is geared toward image and footage buyers, but there are helpful clips to be found.

Subject Specialist

Patrick Williams's picture
Patrick Williams
Contact:
551 Bird Library

222 Waverly Avenue

Syracuse, NY 13244

315-443-9520

Video Search Engines

There are many free video sharing sites online (some familiar, some not) covering a vast array of commercial, user-submitted, and archival video footage.