General Social Sciences:
- Humanities Full Text
Full-text access to articles in journals covering Communications, Folklore, Gender Studies, Journalism, Literary & Social Criticism, and Literature.
Full-text articles from over 1,300 journals in Language and Literature, African American Studies, Film Studies, British Studies, and Folklore and many other areas.
Communities and Cultures:
- eHraf World Cultures
A cross-cultural database with reference works on all aspects of cultural and social life.
- Ethnic Newswatch
Full-text of newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.
- LGBT Life
provides access to literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues.
- Contemporary Women's Issues
Full-text articles on a broad range of women's issues, bringing together such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights.
Includes literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy, AgeLine also includes information for professionals working in aging-related fields and for consumers.
- Race Relations Abstracts
Despite the name, this database includes many full text articles related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas (make sure to click "Linked Full Text" when you search).
indexes publications that focus on gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Women's Studies International
Includes materials ranging from core writings to ground-breaking feminist scholarship in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, gender studies, arts & humanities, business and education.
Geography and Environment:
Multidisciplinary; draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines.
Gateway to numerous authoritative scientific databases and websites provided by U.S. Government agencies, including the Department of Energy (DOE), Department of Defense (DOD), the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).
- CQ Researcher
Consists of reports on public policy issues including environment, health and nutrition, education, international affairs, economics, and science and technology.
- Social Explorer
Social Explorer allows the researcher to make maps and reports, visually analyze, explore and understand the current and historical demography of the Untied States.
- American Community Survey
A community-specific resource on the U.S. Census Bureau website
Current and Historical Mass-Media Coverage:
- Access World News
Full-text local and regional newspapers, offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues
- LexisNexis Academic
Full-text files focusing on general news, legal news, & business and industry information.
- Alt-Press Watch
Full text of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Film, Television, and Performance:
- FIAF: Index to Film Periodicals Plus FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus is a bibliographical resource offering coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals right up to the present day. Many of these key titles are available here in full text including complete runs.
- Film & television literature index Covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.
- NexisUni Access more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, together with extensive current and historical U.S. state and federal statutes, published court decisions and regulations. Registering for a free ID and password within the interface is recommended for those looking to take advantage of personalization features such as alerts, saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete Full text access to hundreds of journals and magazines in Communications Studies.