Research Guides: South Asian Studies: Home

Help Using Library Sources and Services

Askus for any help in selecting and locating library sources and services

African Diaspora, Anthropology, History, International Relations, Sociology: Winn Wasson
Geography, Maps, and Government Information: John Olson
Philosophy, Religion, Linguistics: Patrick Williams

Special Collections

The Special Collections Resource Center provides access to rare books, manuscripts, and other primary source materials. Some of those that might be of interest to scholars and students in South Asian Studies include:

Find Articles: Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies
Bibliography of western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on Asia published since 1971.
Bioline International
Open access research journals covering global health, epidemiology, biodiversity, the environment, and international development and more. Includes peer-reviewed journals from Bangladesh, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Egypt, Ghana, India, Iran, Kenya, Malaysia, Nigeria, Tanzania, Turkey, Uganda and Venezuela.
Economist Intelligence Unit
Reports, analysis, and data from the Economist Intelligence Unit related to the industries, and the economy in numerous countries.
EHRAF World Cultures
Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) index to documents related to ethnography and global cultures .
Empire Online
Diaries, illustrations, maps, manuscripts, books, and reports documenting the rise and fall of the European colonial empires worldwide from 1750 to 1960’s. The principal focus is British, it also documents the experience of colonized peoples, focusing on history, politics, and culture.
Europa World
Online Europa World Year Book providing basic facts, and political and economic information about countries and territories.
India, Raj and Empire
Facsimiles of diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and documents from 1710-1937 related to the Britain and India, from manuscript collections of National Library of Scotland.
Polling the Nations
Information about polls on various subjects, including poll questions and responses.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses @ Syracuse University
Dissertations and theses from Syracuse University, from 1870 to the present.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Index to dissertations and theses from around the world rom 1743 to the present day and with full text for many primarily from 1997.

News

Factiva
Five simultaneous users.
Newspapers, trade publications, business news, investment and market research reports, company profiles and more.
PressReader
Current local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.