Skip to main content
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Libraries

SOM 122 - Perspectives of Business and Management (Fall 2015): Home

Research Guide for the Whitman School of Management Introductory Business Course

Welcome

Welcome to Syracuse University Libraries, New Whitman Students!

As you work toward successful completion of the SOM 122 Team Business Project, consider the suggested research starting points on this guide, which was designed by the business librarian and SOM faculty

Refer to this guide homepage for general information and to the other guide pages (see tabs at the top of this page) for more specific research recommendations. Remember that these are only suggestions of where to begin. Feel free to explore additional resources via the following:

If you have any questions or would like to schedule a research consultation, please contact the business librarian.

Business & Management Librarian

Stephanie JH McReynolds
Contact:
Please email or call for research guidance or an appointment at Bird Library.
(315) 443-9524

Office Hours at Whitman:
Tuesdays, 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm
See table in the hallway on the 2nd floor.
Feel free to drop by to ask questions or just say, “Hello!"

If you need immediate assistance from a library staff person, especially if it is after "business hours," consider using SU Libraries' "Ask Us!" options (which include a 24/7 chat service).
Website / Blog Page

Ask Us!

The Syracuse University Libraries

Syracuse University is home to a number of libraries that are open for you to use.  They include:

There are also other libraries and affiliates located in and around the University.  They include:

Need help finding a library?  Check out this library map:


View the full Syracuse University Campus and Other Affiliated Libraries map.

Summon

Summon is a search engine for most of the Syracuse University Libraries’ collections and other resources beyond SU Libraries.

Includes articles, books, journals, maps, sound recordings, archival materials, government documents, and more. Use for searching for articles. Narrow or expand results using multiple search refinements.

 

Note that some specialized business research databases are not indexed in Summon. If you are having trouble finding the business information you need, consider going directly to the appropriate business database or contacting the business librarian.

Library Tips from SU Students

SU students, including two Whitman students, offer tips on where to go for research help, quiet study space, team projects, and a great wrap or cup of tea/coffee.

Also included is a student shout-out about the business librarian's office hours at Whitman!

Article Databases Overview

Great video overview from the NCSU Libraries on how article databases (and databases in general) work.

Link to video "Article Databases in 5 Minutes"

Productive Researcher

Six short tutorials presented in video, audio, and text & image versions outlining basic search strategy and approaches to finding sources.