Skip to main content

LGBT Studies: Databases

Watch for the SULinks icon

When searching our literature databases, this link will take you to the full-text of journal articles available online through our SU Library subscriptions.

Core literature databases for LGBT Studies

Contemporary Women's Issues
Full-text articles on a broad range of women's issues, bringing together such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights.

Ethnic Newswatch
Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.

GenderWatch
Full-text publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.

LGBT Life
LGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues.

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts
Coverage includes education, employment, women in the family and community, medicine and health, female sex and gender role socialization, social policy, the social psychology of women, female culture, media treatment of women, biography, literary criticism and historical studies.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600 to 2000

Women and Social Movements in the United States brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities.

Women's Studies International
Includes materials ranging from core writings to ground-breaking feminist scholarship in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, gender studies, arts & humanities, business and education.

 Alt-Press Watch
Full-text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.

 

Historical Coverage

 Historical Abstracts
 Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present.

 

General Databases

CQ Researcher
An encyclopedia addressing public policy issues.

Humanities Full Text
Index and abstracts to 465 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature.

JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.

Social Sciences Full Text
Index with abstracts in sociology, social work, aging, gerontology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy and other social sciences.

    Other important databases for specific paper topics