Skip to main content

International Students' Guide: Resources in Other Languages

A resource guide to the Syracuse University Libraries for international students.

Resources in Other Languages

Language Dictionaries

On the Libraries' website, type the name of the dictionary in the Summon search box at the top of the page.

Sample online dictionaries include:
  1. Dictionary.com Translator translates over 50 languages.
  2. WordReference.com provides free online translation dictionaries.
  3. WorldLingo Online Language Dictionaries offer links to dictionaries in multiple languages.
  4. Omniglot is an online encyclopedia of writing systems and languages.
Items in Other Languages

Using the Catalog Advanced Search, type the name of the item as a keyword. Near the bottom of this search page, you can select multiple languages using the Language drop-down menu.

Foreign Language Movies

Syracuse University faculty and graduate students may borrow videos and DVDs for up to three days. Undergraduate students may borrow videos/DVDs for 24 hours with no renewals. For more information, see also the Libraries' Video and Music Collections page.

You may also borrow foreign languages movies from the Onondaga County Public Library.

International Newspapers

SU Libraries has electronic subscriptions to a number of international newspapers.  To see if a newspaper is part of our collection, you can use the Journal Locator and type in the title of the newspaper or magazine (for example, "The Guardian," "India Today," "Korea Times," "Le Monde," "El Pais," "Shanghai Daily," etc.).


You can also search for international newspapers using one of our newspaper databases:

  • PressReader logo
    A database of recent international newspapers from over 100 countries in 60 languages.  Only includes newspapers from the past 30 to 90 days only.
     

  • A full-text database, providing access to hundreds of national and regional newspapers, as well as business information and legal cases.
     
  • Access World News logo
    An international newspaper database, offering selected articles from around the world and options to browse by country or region.

You can also go to the newspaper databases research guide to learn more about SU's newspaper collections.

Ask Us!

You can also contact the SU Libraries in a variety of ways, including in person at our service desks or via:

SMS (Text) icon Text: 315-464-0744

Instant Message (IM) icon Chat: Click on the "Chat" link on our website.

Phone icon Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail icon E-mail: libref@syr.edu

SCOLA

SCOLA [SCOLA]
A nonprofit educational consortium based in McClelland, Iowa, that receives and re-transmits television news and entertainment programming from more than one-hundred different countries in the original languages.

Chinese Collection

SU Libraries partnered with SU's Chinese Students and Scholars Association (CSSA) to build a collection of books in Chinese to connect members to their culture while at SU.

To locate the books from this collection, you can use our Classic Catalog; enter "Gift of the Chinese Students and Scholars Association" as a Keyword.

The spreadsheet link below lists the collection by subject category in Chinese and Chinese Romanization. Click on the sheet tabs at the bottom of the spreadsheet to view the complete list.

You can also visit the East Asia Subject guide.

CSSA was established to help Chinese students and faculty acclimate to the University by providing support services and networking opportunities. Learn more about CSSA at their website.