Research Guides: French Language and Literature: FRE 316

The Arts

Sources:

Art and Architecture ePortal
Art and architecture works with images from several presses and galleries, including the Art Institute of Chicago, Princeton University press, MIT Press, Yale Center for British Art, Yale University Press, and more.
Art and Architecture Source
Journals, books, and images covering fine arts, decorative and commercial art, architecture and architectural design.
ARTbibliographies Modern
Index and abstracts to articles, essays, reviews, and more covering modern and contemporary art from the 19th century to the present.
ARTstor
Art, architecture, and archaeology images including images from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Index to articles on architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, published from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.
Naxos Music Library
Limited to fifteen (15) simultaneous users.
Streaming audio of Western art music/classical music. Includes Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues, among other record labels, as well as details about works, and a glossary.
Syracuse Archivision E-Resource
First retrieve login and password, then connect to the electronic resource.
Collection of Greek, Roman, Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, 18th and 19th Century and modern architectural sites, including gardens and parks, city skylines, cityscapes and public art as well as other design related topics.

Subject headings include:

Art- France

Architecture- France

Music- France

You can also search by artistic movement i.e. Impressionism

Individual artists, architects and composers can be searched by name

For music related topics, consult this Research Guide:

https://researchguides.library.syr.edu/music/recordings

Business

Sources:

World Bank eLibrary
As of 6/30/24, this platform will no longer be available. Please see the World Bank Documents and Reports, the World Bank Open Knowledge Repository, and the World Bank Open Data for content previously found here.
Collection of World Bank books, working papers, documents and data related to world-wide social and economic development. Includes World Development Indicators data and content from the World Bank Economic Review (WBER) and World Bank Research Observer (WBRO).

Cuisine

Sources:

Subject headings include Cooking, French

also consider searching by author: Child, Julia

Education

Sources:

Education Source
Index and abstracts to articles, books, and papers in many areas of education; includes some full text and retrospective indexing back to the 1930s.

Keyword searching is useful to search for specific events.

Topics for the student riots of May 1968 include:

Riots--France--Paris

For historical events related to education, also consult the history resource.

Fashion

Sources:

For help with fashion related research, go to the Research Guide listed here: https://researchguides.library.syr.edu/fashion

Use Fashion- France as a subject heading

You can also search under individual designers or fashion houses

Vogue Archive
Page images of U.S. Vogue from 1892 to present.

Paris Fashion Week, 2020:

https://cnycentral.com/news/entertainment/paris-couture-climbs-mount-olympus-plumbs-marine-depths

Geography

ProQuest
Databases covering a broad range of subject areas including business, economics, education, humanities, literature, news, social sciences, science and technology and more.

Health and Society

Sources:

MEDLINE
Index to journals in all areas of medicine, including nutrition, dentistry, pathology, psychiatry, toxicology, health administration, nursing and more.
PsycInfo
Index to literature in psychology, and related fields, such as psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, gerontology, and linguistics; published by the American Psychological Association.

Topics to research include:

Medical Policy- France

History

Sources:

Historical Abstracts with Full-text
Index to articles about world history, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Covers history of specific subjects in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974
Diaries, letters, autobiographies and memoirs, written and oral histories, memorabilia, and more related to the 1960s through 1970s.

Sample subject headings include:

De Gaulle, Charles

World War, 1939-1945- France

Leisure

Sources:

Sports Illustrated
Searchable page image archive of Sports Illustrated magazine from 1954 to 2000. Covers professional and amateur sports as well as popular culture, business, and politics.

Literature

Sources:

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Modern Language Association bibliography of publications related to language, literature, folklore, and linguistics.

See below for examples of specific subject headings for French literature:

French fiction.

Titles:

438

Type:

Library of Congress subject headings

Narrower Term:

Adventure stories, French

Narrower Term:

Autobiographical fiction, French.

Narrower Term:

Biographical fiction, French

Narrower Term:

Children's stories, French.

Narrower Term:

Detective and mystery stories, French.

Narrower Term:

Erotic stories, French

Narrower Term:

Experimental fiction, French

Narrower Term:

Fantasy fiction, French

Narrower Term:

Historical fiction, French.

Narrower Term:

Horror tales, French

Narrower Term:

Pastoral fiction, French.

Narrower Term:

Picaresque literature, French

Narrower Term:

Psychological fiction, French

Narrower Term:

Romance fiction, French

Narrower Term:

Science fiction, French.

Narrower Term:

Short stories, French

Narrower Term:

Spy stories, French

Narrower Term:

War stories, French

Media

Sources:

Access World News
Current and past worldwide news sources, including international, local and regional newspapers, media transcripts, wire service content, college newspaper articles, magazines, blogs, video and audio.
FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals
Index to journals and magazines covering film, including some full text.
Film and Television Literature Index
Index to journals and magazines covering cinematography, television, production, reviews and more.
Film Literature Index
Film Literature Index Online has been retired by Indiana University Libraries and is no longer available.
Kanopy
To access titles, click on LOG IN TO SYR or WATCH THIS buttons at bottom of screen, and not LOG IN at upper right of screen. If you cannot find a title on Kanopy, please use the SU Libraries’ Request a title form
Academic streaming video collection containing educational titles as well as U.S. and international feature films. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning. The platform video player is WCAG-compliant.

Politics

Sources:

AP Newsroom
**Beginning November 1, 2019 this will replace AP Images Classic**
Extensive collection of contemporary and historical photos, news stories, audio clips and print graphics produced by Associated Press journalists.
Women's Studies International
Index to women's studies and feminist research literature published in journals, newsletters, bulletins, books reports, dissertations and grey literature.

Religion and Philosophy

Sources:

ATLA Religion Database
Journal articles, reviews, and essays covering religion and theology, compiled by the American Theological Library Association.
Philosopher's Index
Indexes to books and journals covering philosophy, including ethics, aesthetics, political philosophy, and philosophy related to specific fields, such as law, education, and science.

French Language and Literature: FRE 316

General Resources

The Arts

Business

Cuisine

Education

Fashion

Geography

Health and Society

History

Leisure

Literature

Media

Politics

Religion and Philosophy