Skip to main content
Syracuse University Libraries

French Language and Literature: Image & Text Resources

This guide outlines key resources and strategies for searching French language and literature at the Syracuse University Libraries

Meta Sites

Full Text Novels

Full Text Poetry

Full Text Newspapers

History

IMAGES & TEXTS

This page concerns digital images, visual resources, and open access texts available through the SU Library and also online.  Web links are to open access material.

Image Research Databases

Database: AP Images

Vendor: Associated Press

Description: AP Images is one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. As an essential source of photographs and graphics for professional image buyers, AP Images strives to meet the needs of todays global customer through superior image quality, selection and service.

Access Note: Ten simultaneous users only.

 

Database: ARTSTOR

Vendor: ARTSTOR

Description: Collection of 300,000 images for use in the teaching and study of art, architecture and archaeology. Specialized image collections include Asian art, Native American art and culture from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America.

 

Database: GreatBuildingsOnline

Vendor: ArchitectureWeek, freely accessible on the web

Description: ArchitectureWeek's Great Buildings serves a starting point for basic architectural information.

 

Database: Syracuse Archivision

Vendor: Archivision

Description: Archivision is a core architecture collection representing major Greek, Roman, Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, 18th & 19th Century and Modern sites. The collection also includes gardens & parks, city skylines, cityscape

Access Note: Click on Guest Login

Image Collections: Architecture & Cities

Image Collections: Art & Sculpture

Image Collections: People & Historic Events