Skip to main content
Syracuse University Libraries

French Language and Literature: Research Databases

This guide outlines key resources and strategies for searching French language and literature at the Syracuse University Libraries

Article Databases

MLA International Bibliography (Highly Recommended)
Vendor: ProQuest
Description: Index to critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, bibliographies and also MLA Directory of Periodicals. (Dates covered: 1926 - Present)
MLA is changing, please see the following announcement:
 
 
Vendor: University of Chicago
Description: The ARTFL implementation of the FRANTEXT database (formerly the Trésor de la Langue Française) consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy.  
 
Vendor: EBSCOhost
Description: Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years.
 
Vendor: H.W. Wilson
Description: Index and abstracts to 465 periodicals in archeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature. Indexing from February 1984 to the present, abstracts from March 1994. Updated monthly.
 
Vendor: ProQuest
Description: Abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts LLC.

Visual Databases

Vendor: ARTSTOR
Description: Collection of 300,000 images for use in the teaching and study of art, architecture and archaeology. Specialized image collections include Asian art, Native American art and culture from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America.
 
Vendor: Archivision
Description: Archivision is a core architecture collection representing major Greek, Roman, Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, 18th & 19th Century and Modern sites. The collection also includes gardens & parks, city skylines, cityscape
Access Note: Click on Guest Login

SURFACE

SURFACE is an online repository of scholarly output from Syracuse University.  Here you can find articles, presentations, and other materials from the French Department.

Additional Databases

Harvard Guide to Using Sources

Vendor: Harvard College Writing Program

Description: A Guide that explains many aspects of how to use a source.