Skip to main content

Architecture: Theory Research

This guide presents resources on various aspects of architecture including history, theory, design and technology.

Thesis Topic Development

You will need to translate your ideas into ‘concrete” terms:  A gateway into a city, for instance, cannot be searched simply under those terms. If specific examples come to mind, try looking them up and reviewing the kinds of subject headings assigned to that example

  • Avoid the subject-heading search when researching a concept. Try Keyword
  • Try researching the various components that make up the building type. If, for instance, your building is a research institute, then it consists of office space as well as a laboratory.
  • As you do your reading or discuss your ideas with your advisor, jot down the kinds of terms mentioned.
  • Ask your advisor for specific precedents and then look at the kinds of terms associated with those projects for suggested terms.

The Companion to Contemporary Architectural Thought, edited by Ben Farmer and Hentie Louw, New York: Routledge, 1993,( NA 2599 C66 1993) provides a number of useful introductory essays on topics like the sociology of housing.

In searching the online catalog and architectural periodical indexes, the following subject headings are often applied to writings on or about architecture theory:

·         Architecture--Philosophy

·         Architectural Criticism

·         Architecture, Modern—20th Century (and subdivisions)

·         Critical Theory

·         Postmodernism

 

Specific aspects of architectural theory appear under headings like:

·         Symbolism in Architecture

·         Space(Architecture)

  

Many writings on or about architectural theory are assigned call numbers between NA 2500 and NA 2765.

Theory Sources and Research

Title: Philosophy for architects
Author: Mitrovic, Branko
Publisher: New York : Princeton Architectural Press, c2011
Location: Bird-4th Floor
Call Number: NA2500 .M59 2011
 
 
Title: Words and buildings : a vocabulary of modern architecture
Author: Forty, Adrian
Publisher: New York : Thames & Hudson, c2000
Location: Architecture Reading Room, Slocum Hall
Call Number: NA2543.L34 F67 2000
 
 
Title: Goodman for architects
Author: Cpdevila Werning, Remei
Location: Bird-2nd Floor
Call Number: B945.G624 C37 2014
 
 
Title: Foucault for architects
Author: Fontana-Giusti, Gordana
Location: Bird-2nd Floor
Call Number: B4230.F724 F584 2012
 
 
Title: Gadamer for architects
Author: Kidder, Paul
Location: Bird-2nd Floor
Call Number: B3248.G34 K53 2013
 
 
Title: Derrida for architects
Author: Coyne, Richard
Publisher: Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge
Location: Architecture Reading Room - Reserve, Slocum Hall
Call Number: B2430.D484 C69 2011
Location: Bird-2nd Floor
Call Number: B2430.D484 C69 2011
 
 
Title: Benjamin for architects
Author: Elliott, Brian
Publisher: London ; New York : Routledge, 2011
Location: Bird-2nd Floor
Call Number: B3209.B584 E45 2011
 
 
Title: Introducing architectural theory : debating a discipline
Author: Smith, Korydon H.                                                                                    
Publisher: New York : Routledge, 2012.
Location: Architecture Reading Room - Reserve, Slocum Hall
Call Number: NA2500 .I58 2012
 
 
Title: Irigaray for architects
Author: Rawes, Peg
Publisher: London ; New York : Routledge, 2007
Location: Architecture Reading Room - Reserve, Slocum Hall
Call Number: B2430.I74 R39 2007
 
 
Title: Bhabha for architects
Author: Hernandez, Felipe
Publisher: London ; New York : Routledge, 2010
Location: Architecture Reading Room - Reserve, Slocum Hall
Call Number: B5134.B474 H47 2010
 
 
Title: Deleuze and Guattari for architects
Author: Ballantyne, Andrew
Publisher: London ; New York : Routledge, 2007
Location: Architecture Reading Room - Reserve, Slocum Hall
Call Number: B2340.D454 B36 2007
 
 
Title: Heidegger for architects
Author: Sharr, Adam
Publisher: London ; New York : Routledge, 2007
Location: Architecture Reading Room - Reserve, Slocum Hal
Call Number: B3279.H49 S423 2007
 
 
Title: Bourdieu for architects
Author: Webster, Helena.                            
Publisher: Abingdon, Oxon [England] ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2011.
Location: Architecture Reading Room - Reserve, Slocum Hal
Call Number: HM479.B68 W435 2011
 
 
Title: Utopian thought in the Western World
Author: Manuel, Frank Edward.                                                        
Publisher: Cambridge, MA : Belknap Press, 1979.
Location: Bird-4th Floor
Call Number: HX806 .M33
 
 
Title: Utopian thought in the Western World
Author: Manuel, Frank Edward.                                                        
Publisher: Cambridge, MA : Belknap Press, 1979.
Location: Bird-4th Floor
Call Number: HX806 .M33
 
Title: Project Japan : metabolism talks
Author: Koolhaas, Rem.                                                         
Publisher: Köln ; London : TASCHEN GmbH, 2011
Location: Architecture Reading Room - Reserve, Slocum Hall
Call Number: NA1555.5.M48 K66 2011
 
 
 
Title: Introducing architectural theory : debating a discipline
Author: Smith, Korydon H.                                                                                    
Publisher: New York : Routledge, 2012.
Location: Architecture Reading Room - Reserve, Slocum Hall
Call Number: NA2500 .I58 2012
 
 
Title: The world of Buckminster Fuller Masters & Masterworks Productions, Inc
Director:   Robert Snyder                                                                                
Location: Bird-4th Floor, Videos
Call Number: Video DVD 15024
 
 
Title: The perfect house : a journey with the Renaissance architect Andrea Palladio
Author: Rybczynski, Witold.                                                                                                            
Publisher: :New York : Scribner, c2002.
Location: Bird-4th Floor
Call Number: NA1123.P2 R93 2002
 

Theory Databases

MLA - The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers. It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.

Philosopher's Index - Indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.