Skip to main content

Architecture: Image Resources

This guide presents resources on various aspects of architecture including history, theory, design and technology.

New Information!

After working on this project for a long time, the ARR staff is happy to report that we now have select images from our old analog slide collection up for your use on the G drive. What is now available represents over 20 architects and 3,000+ images. Image quality varies as well as depth of coverage. Out old slide collection was inconsistent. Nonetheless we felt it was a resource that could move forward selectively. We have also focused on plans as much as possible. The Libraries subscribe to both ArtStor as well as Syracuse Archivision so we have exterior/interior images for many sites.

To access these new images,please go to your G drive and go to g:\ARCH\Archive\Architecture Slide Collection\

 

Digitized Slide Collection

The Reading Room staff has been working to convert a large collection of slides owned by the School of Architecture into digital format  As of February 2012, DVDs containing the digital files are available to be checked out on a two-hour loan period.

In the selection process, there was an emphasis on original photography, technical drawings, and process sketches, whenever available.  Material ranges from international architects such as Mies van der Rohe and Rem Koolhaas, to structural systems and technical details as well as documentation of cities.  

Students and faculty interested in checking out these DVDs should ask for assistance at the front desk.  Faculty may also request copies of the DVD to be made and delivered to their mailboxes.

Slide Collection Index

Architects

Art

IMAGES

This page concerns digital images and visual resources available through the SU Library and also online.  Web links are to open access material.

Artstor News

Artstor has added significant architectural content to its database of over 300,000  images.

Artstor is a major provider of quality images for use in the teaching and study of art, architecture and archaeology. Specialized image collections include Asian art, Native American art and culture from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America. But now it will be of increased value to the architecture and design communities. Artstor, the Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation (GSAPP), and the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library are now sharing approximately 10,000 images of architectural plans and sections and related materials in the database.

Curated by Professors Mary McLeod and Kenneth Frampton from Avery's immense resources, the collection will eventually include 20,000 images. It is based on GSAPP's history of modern architecture curriculum and covers the history of modern buildings, focusing primarily on 20th-century modernism. The Plans and Sections project comprises 1,000 projects from 44 countries, the majority of them of built works, and also includes documentation of unbuilt projects and of competitions. This is the first time this rich body of visual material and related scholarship is available online.
 

Research Databases

Database: AP Images

Vendor: Associated Press 


Description: AP Images is one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. As an essential source of photographs and graphics for professional image buyers, AP Images strives to meet the needs of todays global customer through superior image quality, selection and service.


Access Note: Ten simultaneous users only.

 

Database: ARTstor

Vendor: ARTstor 


Description: Collection of 300,000 images for use in the teaching and study of art, architecture and archaeology. Specialized image collections include Asian art, Native American art and culture from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America.

  

Database: Digital Sanborn Maps

Vendor: ProQuest 


Description: Digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities.

 

Database: GreatBuildingsOnline

Vendor: ArchitectureWeek, freely accessible on the web


Description: ArchitectureWeek's Great Buildings serves a starting point for basic architectural information.

 

Database: Structurae : International Database and Gallery of Structures

Vendor: Structurae 


Description: An international database and gallery of structures including bridges, skyscrapers, towers, dams and off-shore structures. All periods of history are covered ranging from the pyramids of ancient Egypt and Gothic cathedrals to the most daring bridges of today.

 

Database: Syracuse Archivision

Vendor: Archivision

Description: Archivision is a core architecture collection representing major Greek, Roman, Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, 18th & 19th Century and Modern sites. The collection also includes gardens & parks, city skylines, cityscape

Access Note: Click on Guest Login

International

Asia

Europe

Middle East

North America