Skip to main content
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Libraries

Architecture: General Web Resources

This guide presents resources on various aspects of architecture including history, theory, design and technology.

Gateway Sites

University of Nevada Architecture Links - Jeanne Brown, Architecture Librarian at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas maintains a very comprehensive site which provides useful starting points on many architecture related topics.

City Planning Web Links - City Planning Resources compiled by the University of California at Berkeley.

Sapling - Gateway to architecture, planning, and landscape weblinks which cover a variety of specialized topics

Architectural News, Reviews and Blogs

ArchitectureWeek - an online newspaper providing updates and critical reviews of new architecture and building.

ai (ArchInnovations) - an online magazine which features information and reviews of new buildings, as well as events, archived projects, and books.  

e-architect  -  news, events, competitions, and information on architects and buildings around the world. Also includes book, architectural product, and job information.

Building Look Up

archINFORM - an international archtiectural database, which includes information on over 29,000 built and unbuilt projects.

Architects Journal Building Library - although a subscription is required for most of the site, there are some buildings which are free to view.  Includes information, pictures, drawings, and details for contemporary British architecture.

Architecture Page - Online design resource with information on recent projects and profiles of contemporary architecture firms.

Emporis - Information on cities and buildings, particularly high rise structures.  

Great Buildings - from ArchitectureWeek, serves as a starting point for basic information on architecture; includes pictures, drawings, or models for some buildings.

Phaidon Atlas-  An extensive global atlas of leading contemporary architecture – search thousands of categories for buildings, architects, drawings and images.

UNESCO World Heritage Sites - 931 sites listed by the World Heritage Committee, which are are significant to cultural and national heritage.

Vitruvio - (Italian Website) general information about significant works, with external links for more information.

Architect Look-Up

AGRAM - background information and pictures of the works of influential architects: Alvar Aalto, Le Corbusier, Johannes Duiker, Josep M. Jujol, Adolf Loos. K. Melnikov, Karl Friedrich Schinkel, Frank Lloyd Wright

Famous Architects - Information on significant architects, primarily of the modern movement

World-Architects.com - profiles of selected architects

General Look Up

These can be used to locate a site or building:  

*NOTE: for these kinds of sources, images may not always be up to date, and street /birds eye views are limited.  Lower image quality.

Google Maps

Google Earth

Bing Maps

 

These sites provide very basic images and information:

*NOTE: Articles from such sites may or may not be from reliable sources or scholarly authors. 

Wikipedia

About.com

Encyclopedia.com

Encyclopedia Britannica Online