Skip to main content

Architecture: Architectural Technology

This guide presents resources on various aspects of architecture including history, theory, design and technology.

Subject Headings

When searching SUMMIT, the online catalog, the following subject headings will be of use in retrieving information related to architectural technology: 

·      Architecture and technology 
·      Building 
·      Building materials          
·      Buildings Environmental Engineering 
·      Structural engineering 
·      Architecture Environmental aspects 
·      Architecture and climate
·      Architecture and energy conservation
·      Materials Technological innovations
·      Design and technology
Related headings include:  

·      Architectural design 
 ·      Architectural practice 
·      Architecture, Modern--20th Century 

 

Specific aspects of architectural technology may be searched using subject headings like the following: 

·      Building laws 
·      Computer-aided design 

Web Links

Article Databases

General Indexes

 

Database:  Applied Science Full Text 


Vendor: H.W. Wilson 


Description: Index to articles in engineering, technology and science journals since 1983

 

Database:  Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals 


Vendor: EBSCOhost 


Description: The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is updated daily.

 

Specialized Indexes

 

DatabaseASHRAE GreenGuide Online 

Vendor: ASHRAE


Description: Full-text access to publications of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers, including Standards, Guidelines, Handbook, ASHRAE Journal and ASHRAE Transactions.

 

Database:  ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library

Vendor: ASTM International 


Description: Electronic edition of nearly every ASTM book, paper, or chapter from nearly every piece of work published by ASTM. The new ASTM Digital Library provides over 30,000 papers and chapters and more than 400,000 pages of information.

 

DatabaseBuildingGreen.com 


Vendor: BuildingGreen, Inc.


Description: Updated monthly. Includes information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building, including energy efficiency, recycled-content materials, land-use planning and indoor air quality. Integrates online versions of GreenSpec, Environmental Building News (EBN), and a database of more than 100 high-performance building case studies. Provides a searchable and cross-referenced format.

Access note: Must be on ESF campus for access.

 

DatabaseMADCAD 


Vendor: MADCAD.com 


Description: MAD CAD is a subscription based, online reference database that contains cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes. The Syracuse University Library subscription provides full-text of the current International and New York State codes.

Access note: Access is limited to two simultaneous users.

 

DatabaseMaterial Connexion 


Vendor: Material ConneXion 


Description: Material Connexion provides a quick global view of the latest innovative and often cutting edge materials. Designed to serve the design disciplines broadly. Material Connexion offers easy keyword searching options. Users can locate detailed information about specific products and manufacturers. Material Connexion highlights products that defy conventional notions of strength, weight, and density.

Access note: 1 simultaneous user only.

Relevant Books

Allen, Edward. How Buildings Work: The Natural Order of Architecture. 3rd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005. (ARR reserve - TH6021 A44 2005)

Arroyo, Salvador Perez, Rossana Atena, and Igor Kebel. Emerging Technologies and Housing Prototypes. Rotterdam: Berlage Institute, 2007. (ARR reserve - TH 4810 P47 2007)

Banham, Reyner.  The Architecture of the Well-Tempered Environment. 2nd ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1984. (ARR reserve - TH6021 B28 1984)

Knaack, Ulrich and Tillmann Klein, eds. The Future Envelope 1: A Multidisciplinary Approach. Delft, the Netherlands: Delft University Press, 2008.

Lim, C.J. Devices: A Manual of Architectural + Spatial Machines. Boston: Architectural Press, 2006. (ARR reserve - TJ230 L55 2006)

Wigginton, Michael and Jude Harris. Intelligent Skins. Boston: Architectural Press, 2004. 2002. (ARR reserve - TH6021 W544 2004)

Featured Reference Work

 

Using the Engineering Literature
By Bonnie A. Osif
Contributor Bonnie A. Osif
Published by Routledge, 2006
ISBN 0824729641, 9780824729646
614 pages


The field of engineering is becoming increasingly interdisciplinary and there is an ever-growing need for engineers to investigate engineering and scientific resources outside their own area of expertise. However, studies have shown that quality information finding skills often tend to be lacking in the engineering profession. "Using the Engineering Literature "is a guide to the wide range of resources in all fields of engineering. The information age has made a great impact on the way engineers find information. While print is still important, resources are increasingly being made available in electronic format and the Web is now a major resource. Engineers impact almost all aspects of our lives and it is vital that they find the right information at the right time for better products and processes. The book takes an engineering sub-discipline approach, detailing those resources that are most important for the practicing engineer and the librarians who work in engineering. Each chapter provides a short history and description of the discipline, then lists the most important resources by format: handbooks, dictionaries, texts, journals, web sites, etc. Most references include a short annotation. Authors of each chapter are well-known, experienced librarians or faculty in the appropriate engineering discipline, sharing their expertise and experiences with engineering information. "Using the Engineering Literature" is a guide to often unknown resources to the practicing engineer, a textbook for the library school student or new engineering librarian, and a time saving handbook to the engineering librarian. The arrangement of materials provides easy and logical access to evaluated resources in engineering and supporting disciplines, providing a tool that is useful in reference services and collection development.