Skip to main content

Architecture: Architectural Design

This guide presents resources on various aspects of architecture including history, theory, design and technology.

Subject Headings

Architectural design spans much of the discipline. Basic subject headings include:

Architectural design

Architecture details

Architecture and society

Design

Research Tips

To find information on an architect:

1. Begin your research by searching SUMMIT by subject (or keyword).

2. If the search is unsuccessful, go back and check your information.  Have you entered the name correctly?  Spelling counts.

3. Check sources like the biographical directories listed above.  An architect’s name may have variant spellings or be listed under a pseudonym. For example, Ferdinando Galli Bibiena is listed under Galli Bibiena, not Bibiena.

4. Check the periodical indexes.

5. Redefine your search.  Redo your search on SUMMIT and in the indexes.  Look for material on the time period, style of architecture, location or building type if you are unable to locate a specific source on the architect.

6. Check appropriate web sites. Please note few web sites include interiors, plans or details.

 

To find information on a specific building: 

1. The manner in which a building may appear in a particular resource can vary  from the information you have been given. Consider, for example, alternate building names.

2. In some instances, there may be a book devoted to the study of the specific building.  Check SUMMIT by keyword.

3. Remember, however, that only a small percentage of buildings have been studied in such detail.  By searching only for books on the specific building, you may be eliminating important studies on the architect.

4. Identify the name of the architect.  If not immediately available, check the Macmillan Encyclopedia index, a city guide or history of the time period/style to try and find this information.  If successful, search SUMMIT and the appropriate indexes by the name of the architect to locate your material.

5. Anonymous or vernacular buildings can only be searched by location, time period, or style as appropriate.

6. When searching by location of the building or work, remember that in many instances the entry will be filed under location first (normally country, then city).

7. Book or journal articles often only show selected works by an architect. Look for books showing the complete works, or books devoted to a specific time period or type of work by the architect.

8. Check more general sources like architectural histories or books on a time period, particular style, building type, or location to collect information about the specific work.

9. Follow the same strategy in the periodical indexes, beginning with a keyword search on the building or combination of architect and specific work.

10. Narrow or broaden your search as necessary.

11. Check specialized resources like the Historic American Buildings Survey or National Register of Historic Places as appropriate.

 

To find information on a specific topic:

1.  Begin your search by subject or keyword. Keyword anywhere is a very broad-based search, which looks for words located anywhere in the record. The keywords visual notes will return all of the items that contain the words visual and notes in the title, author if appropriate, subject heading, table of contents or  publisher fields. Scan the entries retrieved by a keyword search and use the detailed record display to locate relevant subject headings.  The limited subject heading search returns a browsable list of items with the exact Library of Congress subject heading. It is a more refined search, and will return a more limited number of entries than the keyword search.

2.  Check related subject headings and topics to obtain additional information.  It may be necessary to broaden or narrow your search depending on the topic and kinds of information these searches return.

3.  This same strategy should be used in researching an architectural work, building type or style.

Building Types: General Resources

 Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture. New York : Phaidon, 2004. (NA687 .P43 2004)

Clark, Roger H. Precedents in Architecture. New York : Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1985. (NA2750 .C55 1985)

De Chiara, Joseph and John Callender, eds. Time-Saver Standards for Building Types. 3rd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill Publishing Company, 1990. (NA2760.D42 1990)

Hamlin, Talbot, ed. Forms and Functions of Twentieth-Century Architecture. New York: Columbia University Press, 1952.  (NA680.H3 vols. 3 and 4)

Millon, Henry A. Key Monuments of the History of Architecture. Englewood Cliffs, N.J., Prentice-Hall ; New York, Harry N. Abrams, 1964. (NA202 .M5)

Pevsner, Nikolaus. A History of Building Types. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1976. (NA4170.P48 c.2)

Stierlin, Henri. Encyclopaedia of World Architecture. 2nd ed. London : Macmillan, 1979. (NA200 .S74 1979)

Building Types: Design Schemes

Accessibility and Design for the Elderly
BOMA International’s ADA compliance guidebook : a checklist for your building : meeting Title III provisions of the American with Disabilities Act : public accommodations and commercial facilities. Washington, D.C. : BOMA International, c1992. (NA2545.P5 B66 1992)
Brent, Ruth and Schwarz, Benyamin, eds. Aging, Autonomy, and Architecture: Advances in Assisted Living. Baltimore, Md. : Johns Hopkins University Press, 1999. (HD7287.92.U54 A375 1999)
Mostaedi, Arian. Residences for the Elderly. Barcelona : Carles Broto i Comerma : Leading International Key Services, [1999?]. (NA7195.A4 M67 1999)
Sorenson, Robert James. Design for Accessibility. New York : McGraw-Hill, c1979. (NA2545.A1 S67)
Valins, Martin, Housing for Elderly People: a guide for architects, interior designers, and their clients.  New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1988. (NA 7195 V34 1988)
 
Arcades
Benjamin, Walter. Arcades Project. Cambridge, Mass. : Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1999. (PT2603.E455 P33513 1999)
Geist, Johann Friedrich. Arcades: The History of a Building Type. Cambridge: The MIT Press, 1983. (NA6218.G4313 1983)
 
Atriums
Bednar, Michael J., The New Atrium. New York: McGraw-Hill Book Company, 1986. (NA 4160.B43 1986)
Saxon, Richard, Atrium buildings: Development and Design.  New York, etc.: Van Nostrand Reinhold Company, 1983. (NA 4160.S28 1983)

Campus Planning
Dober, Richard P. Campus Planning. New York : Reinhold Pub. Corp., 1964. (NA6603 .D6)
Schmerz, Mildred F. Campus Planning and Design. New York : McGraw-Hill, 1972. (OVERSIZE LB3223 .S35)
Turner, Paul Venable.  Campus: An American Planning Tradition.  New York: Architectural History Foundation, c1984. (LB3223.3 T87 1984)
 
Gardens and Landscape Architecture
1000 x Landscape Architecture. Berlin : Braun, 2009. (OVERSIZE SB472 .A14 2009)
Urban Garden Design: Private Terraces and Balconies. Barcelona : Loft, c2008. (SB473.2 .U73 2008)
Crowe, Sylvia. Garden Design. Wappingers’ Falls, NY : Garden Art Press, 1994. (SB472.45 .C76 1994)
Gothein, Marie Louise Schroeter. A History of Garden Art.  New York: Dutton, 1928.  (SB451 G613)
Pigeat, Jean-Paul. Gardens of the World: Two Thousand Years of Garden Design. Paris : Flammarion, 2003. (SB465 .P544 2003)
Simonds, John Ormsbee. Landscape Architecture: A Manual of Site Planning and Design. New York : McGraw-Hill, c1983. (SB472 .S58 1983)

Industrialized Buildings
Arieff, Allison. Prefab. Salt Lake City : Gibbs Smith, c2002. NA8480 .A73 2002
Diamant, R.M.E. Industrialized Building: 50 International Methods. London: Iliffe Books, 1965-1968. (NA6400 .D5)
Lytle, R.J.  Industrialized Builders Handbook.  1st ed.  Farmington, MI: Structures Pub. Co., 1971.  (ARR TH1000 L9)
Sluzas, Raymond.  A Graphic Guide to Industrialized Building Elements.  Boston: CBI Pub. Co., 1977.  (TH1000 S58)

Waterfronts
Berman, Richard W. Assessing Urban Design: Historical Ambience on the Waterfront. Lanham, MD : Lexington Books, c2006.(HT177.P47 B47 2006)
Breen, Ann. The New Waterfront: The Worldwide Urban Success Story. New York : McGraw-Hill, 1996. (HT170 .B74 1996)
Torre, L. Azeo.  Waterfront Development.  New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1989.  (HT175 T66 1989)

Building Types: Civic / Institutional

Bank Buildings
Heathcote, Edwin. Bank Builders. Chichester: Wiley-Academy, 2000. (NA6240 .H43 2000)
Vance, Mary A.  Bank Buildings: A Bibliography of Periodical Articles.  Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, 1981.  (Z5941 A7 no.399)
  
Correctional Facilities
Correctional Facilities Planning Lexington, MA: Lexington Books, c1979.  (HV9305 C2 C67)
DeWitt, Charles B.  New Construction Methods for Correctional Facilities.  Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Justice, National Institute of Justice. 1986.  (J28.3/2:C76)
Fairweather, Leslie and McConville, Sean, eds. Prison Architecture: Policy, Design, and Experience. Oxford ; Boston : Architectural Press, 2000. (HV8829.G8 P75 2000)
Howard, Roberta.  Designs for Contemporary Correctional FacilitiesCrofton, MD: Capitol Pub. Co., c1985.  (HV8805 H68 1985)
Johnston, Norman. Forms of Constraint: A History of Prison Architecture. Urbana ; Chicago : University of Illinois Press, c2000. (HV8805 .J669 2000)
United Nations Social Defense Research Institute. Prison Architecture. London: The Architectural Press Ltd., c1975. (HV8805 U533)
 
Courthouses
Celebrating the courthouse : a guide for architects, their clients, and the public. New York : W.W. Norton, c2006. (NA4471 .C45 2006)
Institute of Continuing Legal Education (MI). ICLE Procedural Guide for the Evaluation and Accreditation of Court Facilities, Including a Report on Proceedings at an ICLE Seminar Conference Held 25-27 April 1977 in Minneapolis Ann Arbor: Institute of Continuing Legal Education, c1977.  (KF5702 C6 I53)
Phillips, Todd. Building Type Basics for Justice Facilities. Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley, c2003. (HV8827 .P55 2003)
Wong, F. Michael.  Space Management and the Courts: Design HandbookWashington, D.C.: National Institute of Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice, 1973.  (NA4471 W66)

Educational Facilities
Davis, J. Clark (James Clark).  The Administrator and Educational Facilities. Washington, D.C.: University Press of America, c1981.  (LB3221 D28)
Graves, Ben E.  School Ways: The Planning and Design of America's Schools. New York: McGraw-Hill, c1993.  (LB3218 A1 G73 1993)
Morisseau, James J.  The New SchoolsNew York: Van Nostrand Reinhold Co., 1972.  (LB3221 M68)
Mostaedi, Arian. Preschool & Kindergarten Architecture. Barcelona: Carles Broto, 2006. (LB3325.K5 .M67 2006)
National Education Association of the United States.  Department of Elementary School Principals.  Elementary School Buildings: Design for Learning.  Washington, D.C.: The Association, 1959.  (Dewey, 727.1 N277e)
Neuman, David J. Building Type Basics for College and University Facilities. Hoboken, NJ : John Wiley, c2003. (NA6600 .N48 2003)
Perkins, L. Bradforfd. Building Type Basics for Elementary and Secondary Schools. New York : J. Wiley & Sons, c2001. (LB3218.A1 P47 2001)
Sanoff, Henry. School Design. New York : Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1994. (LB3218.A1 S33 1994)
Unesco.  Planning Buildings and Facilities for Higher Education.  Stroudsburg, PA: Dowen, Hutchison & Ross, 1975.  (oversize LB3223 U52 1975)
Health Facilities
Building Type Basics for Healthcare Facilities. New York : Wiley, c2000. (RA967 .H434 2000)
Guidelines for Design and Construction of Health Care Facilities. Washington, DC : American Institute of Architects, c2006. (RA967 .G834 2006)
Boekel, Andrea. Architecture for Health Care. Victoria : Images Publishing Group, 2008. (RA967 .A73 2008)
Health Care Architecture Symposium (1986: Washington, D.C.). Architecture for Health: Health Care Architecture.  Washington, D.C.: American Institute of Architects Press, 1987.  (Sci Tech RA961 H43 1987)
Malkin, Jain.  The Design of Medical and Dental Facilities.  New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1982.  (RA967 M36)
Miller, Richard L. Hospital and Healthcare Facility Design. 2nd Ed. New York : W.W. Norton, c2002. (RA967 .M487 2002)
Porter, David R. Hospital Architecture. Ann Arbor, Mich. : AUPHA Press, 1982. (RA967 .P626 1982)
Wagenaar, Cor. The Architecture of Hospitals. Rotterdam : NAi Publishers, 2006. (RA967 .A723 2006)
Verderber, Stephen. Healthcare Architecture in an Era of Radical Transformation. New Haven, CT : Yale University Press, c2000. (RA967 .V473 2000)
Verderber, Stephen and Refuerzo, Ben. Innovations in Hospice Architecture. London ; New York : Taylor & Francis, 2006. (RA1000 .V47 2006)
 Laboratory and Research Facilities
Braun, Hardo. Research and Technology Buildings: A Design Manual. Boston: Birkhäuser-Publishers for Architecture, c2005. (NA6751 .B7313 2005)
Griffin, Brian. Laboratory design guide: for clients, architects, and their design team: the laboratory design process from start to finish. 3rd ed. Oxford : Elsevier, 2004. (TH4652 .G75 2004)
Mayer, Leonard. Design and Planning of Research and Clinical Laboratory Facilities. New York : J. Wiley, c1995. (TH4652 .M39 1995)
Watch, Daniel. Building Type Basics for Research Laboratories. New York : John Wiley, c2001. (NA6751 .W38 2001)
 
Library Buildings
Dewe, Michael. Planning Public Library Buildings: Concepts and Issues for the Librarian. Burlington, VT : Ashgate Pub., c2006.( Z679.5 .D49 2006)
Crosbie, Michael J. Architecture for the Books. Mulgrave, Vic. : Images, 2003. (Z679 .C776 2003)
Lushington, Nolan. Libraries Designed for Users. London : Neal-Schuman, 2002. (Z679.5 .L87 2002)
Lushington, Nolan.  The Design and Evaluation of Public Library Buildings.  Hamden, CT: Library Professional Publications, 1991.  (Z679 L95 1991)
Mason, Ellsworth.  Mason on Library Buildings.  Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1980.  (Z679 M22)
Metcalf, Keyes DeWitt.  Planning Academic and Research Library Buildings.  2nd ed. by Philip D. Leighton and David C. Webster.  Chicago: American Library Association, 1986.  (Z679.5 M49 1986)
Smith, Karen and Flannery, John. Library Design. New York, NY : Te Neues, c2007. (Z679 .L572 2007)
Thompson, Godfrey.  Planning and Design of Library Buildings 3rd ed., London: Butterworth Architecture, c1989.  (oversize Z679.T53 1989)
 
Religious Buildings
Architecture of the Contemporary Mosque. London : Academy Editions, 1996. (NA4670 .A73 1996)
Religious Buildings.  New York: McGraw-Hill, c1979.  (NA5212 R44)
Two Hundred Years of American Synagogue Architecture Waltham, MA: American Jewish Historical Society, c1976.  (NA4690 T86)
Braunfels, Wolfgang. Monasteries of Western Europe: The Architecture of the Orders. London: Thames and Hudson, 1972.  (NA4850.B713)
Christ-Janer, Albert.  Modern Church Architecture: A Guide to the Form and Spirit of 20th Century Religious Buildings.  New York: Dodge Book Dept., McGraw-Hill, 1962.  (NA4800 C55)
Kahera, Akel Ismail. Deconstructing the American Mosque: Space, Gender, and Aesthetics. Austin : University of Texas Press, 2002. (NA5212 .K34 2002)
Richardson, Phyllis. New Spiritual Architecture. New York : Abbeville Press, 2004. (NA4600 .R53 2004)
Roberts, Nicholas W. Building Type Basics for Places of Worship. Hoboken, N.J. : J. Wiley & Sons, c2004. (BL580 .R63 2004)
Stegers, Rudolf. Sacred Buildings: A Design Manual. Boston : Birkhäuser, c2008. (NA4600 .S6513 2008)
Wightman, G.J. Sacred Spaces: Religious Architecture of the Ancient World. Dudley, MA : Peeters, 2007. (NA4620 .W54 2007)
 
Transit Facilities
Blow, Christopher J. Airport Terminals. Oxford; Boston: Butterworth Architecture, 1991. (NA6300 .B56 1991)
Brown, Christopher. Still Standing: A Century of Urban Train Station Design. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, c2005. (TF300 .B76 2005)
Meeks, Carroll L.V. The Railroad Station: An Architectural History. New Haven, Yale University Press, 1956. (NA6310 .M4)
Edwards, Brian. The Modern Airport Terminal: New Approaches to Airport Architecture. 2nd ed. New York : Spon Press, 2005. (NA6300 .E36 2005)
 Griffin, Kenneth W. Building Type Basics for Transit Facilities. Hoboken, N.J.: John Wiley & Sons, c2004. (NA6290 .G75 2004)

Building Types: Commercial and Private

Day Care
Planning a licensed day care center.  Chicago: The Center, 1986.  (HV851 P552 1986) 

Factories
Ahmed, Nizamuddin. Industrial Architecture for Developing Countries. New Delhi : Vikas Pub. House, c1992. (TH4511 .A35 1992)
Adam, Jurgen J. Industrial Buildings: A Design Manual. Boston : Birkhäuser-Publishers for Architecture, 2004. (NA6400 .A3213 2004)
Munce, James F. Industrial Architecture: An Analysis of International Building Practice. New York: F.W. Dodge Corp, 1960. (NA6400 .M8 1960)
Phillips, Alan. The Best in Industrial Architecture. New York, N.Y. : Watson-Guptill, c1992. (NA6400 .P46 1992)
Tompkins, James A.  Facilities Planning.  New York: Wiley, c1984.  (Sci Tech TS177 T67 1984)
Winter, John Anthony. Industrial Architecture: A Survey of Factory Building. London, Studio Vista, 1970. (NA6400 .W5 1970)
  
Homeless
The Creation of Shelter.  Washington, D.C.: American Institute of Architects, 1988.  (HV4505 C85 1988)
Greer, Nora Richter.  The Search for Shelter. Washington, D.C.: America Institute of Architects, 1986.  (HV4505 G86 1986)
Kronenburg, Robert, ed. Transportable Environments 2. New York : Spon Press, 2003. (NA8480 .T73 2003)
 
Hotels
Abercrombie, Stanley. Hospitality and Restaurant Design. New York : Visual Reference Publications, c1999. (NK2195.R4 A24 1999)
McDonough, Brian, et. al. Building Type Basics for Hospitality Facilities. New York : Wiley, c2001. (TX911.2 .B84 2001)
Riewoldt, Otto. New Hotel Design. New York, N.Y. : Watson-Guptill, 2002. (NA7800 .R54 2002b )
Smith, Douglas Henry.  Hotel and Restaurant Design.  New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1978.  (NA7800 S6 1978)
 
Housing
Collective Housing: A Manual. New York : Astar Distribution, Inc. [distributor], c2007. (NA7126 .C65 2007)
 Floor Plan Atlas: Housing. Boston : Birkhäuser, 1994. (NA7126 .G78 1994)
 Housing.  2nd ed.  New York: Wiley, c1982.  (TH4820 H68 1982)
Residential Designs for the 21st Century: An International Collection. Buffalo, N.Y. ; Richmond Hill, Ont. : Firefly Books, 2007. (NA7110 .R47 2007)
Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning.  New York: McGraw-Hill, c2001.  (NK2110 T48 2001)
Time-Saver Standards for Residential Development.  New York: McGraw-Hill, c1984.  (NA9051 T55 1984)
Bemis, Albert Farwell. The Evolving House: A History of the Home. Cambridge, Mass. : The Technology press, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, c1933-1936. (NA7105 .B45 1933)
Chandler, Robert, et. al. Building Type Basics for Housing. Hoboken, N.J. : J. Wiley & Sons, c2005. (NA7208.2 .B85 2005)
Davis, Dam. Architecture of Affordable Housing. Berkeley, CA : University of California Press, c1995. (NA7540 .D38 1995)
De Chiara, Joseph.  Manual of Housing Planning and Design Criteria.  Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, 1974.  (HD7287.5 D4)
French, Hilary. Key Urban Housing of the Twentieth Century. New York : W.W. Norton, 2008. (NA7126 .C65 2007)
Gausa, Manuel. Housing + Single-Family Housing. Barcelona : Actar, c2002. (NA7235 .G3713 2002)
Mornement, Adam. Infill: New Houses for Urban Sites. London : Laurence King, 2009. (NA7125 .M67 2009)
 
Multi-Purpose Facilities
Building Type Basics for Retail and Mixed-Use Facilities. Hoboken, N.J.: J. Wiley, c2004. (HF5429 .B672 2004)
Coupland, Andy. Reclaiming the City: Mixed Use Development. New York: E & FN Spon, 1997. (HT166 .R3 1997)
Schmitz, Adrienne. Creating Walkable Places: Compact Mixed-Use Solutions. Washington, D.C.: ULI-the Urban Land Institute, 2005. (HT167 .S264 2005)
Zeidler, Eberhard. Multi-use Architecture in the Urban Context. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1985.  (NA4177 Z4513 1985)
 
Museums
Brawne, Michael. The New Museum: Architecture and Display. New York: Frederick A. Praeger, 1965. (NA6700 A1 B7 c.2)
Coolidge, John. Patrons and Architects: Designing Art Museums in the Twentieth Century.  Fort Worth: Amon Carter Museum, 1989. (NA6695 C6 1989)
Crosbie, Michael J. Designing the World’s Best: Museums and Art Galleries. Mulgave, Vic., Australia : Images, 2003. (NA6695 .C76 2003)
Darragh, Joan. Museum Design: Planning and Building for Art. New York: Oxford University Press, 1993. (NA6695.D37 1993)
Davis, Douglas. The Museum Transformed: Design and Culture in the Post-Pompidou Age. New York: Abbeville Press, 1990. (oversize NA6695.D38 1990)
Montaner, Josep M. New Museums. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, c1990. (NA6695 M6613 1990)
Naredi-Rainer, Paul V. Museum Buildings: A Design Manual. Boston: Birkhäuser, Publishers for Architecture, c2004. (NA6690 .N37 2004)
Newhouse, Victoria. Towards a New Museum. New York: Monacelli Press, 1998. (NA6695 .N49 1998)
Rosenblatt, Arthur. Building Type Basics for Museums. New York: Wiley, c2001. (NA6690 .R67 2001)
Searing, Helen. New American Art Museums. New York: Whitney Museum of American Art in association with the University of California Press, 1982.  (NA6700.A1.S4)
Steele, James, ed. Museum Builders. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 1994. (NA6695 .M874 1994)
Trulove, James Grayson. Designing the New Museum: Building a Destination. Gloucester, Mass. : Rockport, c2000. (NA6690 .T78 2000)
 
Office Buildings and Skyscrapers
Green Office Buildings: A Practical Guide to Development. Washington, D.C. : ULI, c2005. (NA6230 .G74 2005)
Office Buildings: A Design Manual. Boston : Birkhäuser, 2002. (NA6230 .O334 2002)
Goldberger, Paul. The Skyscraper. New York : Knopf : Distributed by Random House, 1981. (NA6230 .G59 1981)
Johnson, Scott. Tall Building: Imagining the Skyscraper. Gendale, Calif. : Balcony Press, 2008. (OVERSIZE NA6230 .J64 2008)
Kohn, A. Eugene. Building Type Basics for Office Buildings. New York : J. Wiley & Sons, c2002. (NA6230 .K64 2002)
Schmertz, Mildred F. ed. Office Building Design. 2nd ed. New York : McGraw-Hill, 1975. (NA6230 .O33 1975)
 
Restaurants
Abercrombie, Stanley. Hospitality and Restaurant Design. New York : Visual Reference Publications, c1999. (NK2195.R4 A24 1999)
Baraban, Regina S. Successful Restaurant Design. 2nd ed. New York : Wiley, c2001. (TX945 .B36 2001)
Lawson, Fred.  Restaurants, Clubs and Bars.  New York: Nostrand Reinhold, 1987.  (NA8855 L37 1987)
Studio GAIA. Hotel Restaurant Bar Club Design: Architecture + Interiors. New York : Visual Reference Publications, Inc., c2006. (NK2195.H6 S78 2006)
 
Stadiums, Sports Facilities, and Events Centers
Lawson, Fred R. Congress, Convention, & Exhibition Facilities: Planning, Design, and Management. Oxford : Architectural, c2000. (NA6880 .L39 2000)
Sheard, Rod. Sports Architecture. London : Spon Press, 2001. (GV401 .S54 2001)
Sternberg, Gene. Community Centers and Student Unions. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold Co. 1971. (NA4510.C7 S8 1971)
Trumpbour, Robert C. The New Cathedrals: Politics and Media in the History of Stadium Construction. Syracuse, N.Y. : Syracuse University Press, 2007. (GV413 .T78 2007)
 
Theaters, Opera Houses, and Cinemas
Great Opera Houses of the World. London: Rolls House Publishing Co., c2003. (NA6820 .G7 2003)
Theater Technology. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1988.  (NA6821.I947 1988)
TD&T (Theater Design & Technology).Pittsburgh, Pa. : The Institute, c1965-1989. (NA6830 .T54); New York, N.Y.: United States Institute for Theatre Technology, c1990- . (NA6830 .T541)
Garnier, Charles. Le Nouvel Opera de Paris. Paris: Linteau, 2001. (NA6840.F8 G3 2001); [Bird Spec Coll: Paris: Ducher et Cie., 1876-1880 [i.e. 1881]. (725.82 G236n ff)]
Hardy, Hugh. Building Type Basics for Performing Arts Facilities. Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley, c2006. (NA6821 .H227 2006)
Heathcote, Edwin. Cinema Builders. New York: Wiley-Academy, 2001. (NA6845 .H43 2001)
Izenour, George C. Theater Design. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1977.  (NA6821.I94)
Sachs, Edwin O.  Modern Opera Houses and Theatres.  New York: B. Blom, 1968.  (flat oversize, NA6821 S22 1968)
Tidworth, Simon. Theatres: An Architectural and Cultural History. New York: Praeger Publishers, 1973. (NA6821 .T48 1973)