Finding Information on a Specific Building:
Finding Information on a Specific Topic:
Space, Time, and Architecture: The Growth of a New Tradition. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1977. 1941. (King + King - NA203 G45 1982)
Mechanization Takes Command: A Contribution to Anonymous History. New York, Oxford Univ. Press, 1948. (King + King - T19 G64) (available online via ACLS Humanities E-Book)
Arnold, Dana. Reading Architectural History. New York: Routledge, 2002. (King + King - NA190 A76 2002)
Ching, Francis D.K., Mark M. Jarzombek, and Vikramaditya Prakash. A Global History of Architecture. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2007. (King + King, reserve - NA200 C493 2007)
Cruickshank, Dan, ed. Sir Banister Fletcher's A History of Architecture. 20th ed. Boston: Architectural Press, 1996. (King + King, reserve - NA200 F63 1996)
Fazio, Michael, Marian Moffett, and Lawrence Wodehouse. Buildings Across Time: An Introduction to World Architecture. 3rd Edition. (King + King, reserve - NA200 M575 2009)
Frankl, Paul. Principles of Architectural History: The Four Phases of Architectural Style, 1420-1900. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1968. (King + King - NA203 F713 0)
Giedion, Sigfried. Space, Time, and Architecture: The Growth of a New Tradition. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1977. 1941. (King + King - NA203 G45 1982)
Kostof, Spiro. A History of Architecture: Settings and Rituals. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995. (King + King, reserve - NA200 K65 1995)
Millon, Henry A., ed. Key Monuments of the History of Architecture. New York: Harry N. Abrams. (King + King - NA202 M5 c.10)
Roth, Leland M. Understanding Architecture: Its Elements, History, and Meaning. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 2007. (King + King - NA2500 R68 2007)
Trachtenberg, Marvin and Isabelle Hyman. Architecture: From Prehistory to Postmodernity. 2nd ed. New York: Harry N. Abrams, 2002. 1986. (King + King, reserve - NA200 T7 2002)
Kubler, George. The Art and Architecture of Ancient America: the Mexican, Maya, and Andean Peoples. Baltimore, MD: Penguin Books, 1975. (Bird 4th Floor, Fine Arts Reference – E59 A7 K8 1975)
Rowland, Benjamin. The Art and Architecture of India: Buddhist, Hindu, Jain. Baltimore, MD: Penguin Books, 1959. (King + King – N7301 R68 1959)
Gerson, Horst and E.H. ter Kuile. Art and Architecture in Belgium, 1600-1800. Baltimore, MD: Penguin Books, 1960. (King + King – N6966 G43)
Hempel, Eberhard. Baroque Art and Architecture in Central Europe: Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Hungary, Czechoslovakia, Poland. Baltimore, MD: Penguin Books, 1965. (King + King – N6756 H413)
Kubler, George and Martin Soria. Art and Architecture in Spain and Portugal and their American Dominions, 1500-1800. Baltimore, MD: Penguin Books, 1959. (King + King – N7104 K8)
Rosenberg, Jakob, Seymour Slive, and E.H. ter Kuile. Dutch Art and Architecture, 1600-1800. Baltimore, MD: Penguin Books, 1966. (Bird 4th Floor, Fine Arts Reference – ND636 R6 1966)
Sandars, Nancy K. Prehistoric Art in Europe. London: Penguin, 1968. (Bird 4th Floor – N5310 S32)
Summerson, John. Architecture in Britain, 1530-1830. Baltimore, MD: Penguin Books, 1963. 1953. (Bird 4th Floor – NA964 S85 1963)
Watkin, David. A History of Western Architecture. 4th ed. New York: Watson-Guptill Publications, 2005. (King + King - NA200 W412 2005)
White, John. Art and Architecture in Italy, 1250-1400. Baltimore, MD: Penguin Books, 1966. (King + King – N6913 W48)
Yarwood, Doreen. A Chronology of Western Architecture. Mineola, NY: Dover Publications, 1987. (King + King - NA200 Y37 2010)
Fazio, Michael W. Buildings across time: An Introduction to World Architecture. Boston: McGraw-Hill Higher Education, 2014. (Bird-4th Floor - NA200 .M575 2014)
Frampton, Kenneth. Modern Architecture: A Critical History. 4th Ed. New York: Thames & Hudson, 2007. (King + King reserve - NA500 F75 2007)
Ching, Francis D.K. A Visual Dictionary of Architecture. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1995. (King + King, reserve - NA31 C44 1995)
Curl, James Stevens. Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture. 2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2006. (King + King - NA31 C864 2006)
Davies, Nikolas. Dictionary of Architecture and Building Construction. London: Elsevier/Architectural Press, 2008. (NA31 .D38 2008)
Fleming, John, Hugh Honour and Nikolaus Pevsner. The Penguin Dictionary of Architecture. 2nd ed. Baltimore, MD: Penguin Books, 1972. (King + King - NA31 F55 1972)
Harris, Cyril M., Dictionary of Architecture and Construction. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1975. (NA31 .H32 2006)
Harris, Cyril M. Illustrated Dictionary of Historic Architecture. New York: McGraw Hill, 1977. (King + King - NA31 H56 1983)
Saylor, Henry H., Dictionary of Architecture. New York: Wiley, 1952. (NA 31 .S25)
Sturgis, Russell. A Dictionary of Architecture and Building: Biographical, Historical, and Descriptive. New York: Macmillan Company, 1902. (King + King - NA31 S84 v.1-3)
Database: Art & Architecture ePortal
Vendor: Yale University Press
Description: The Art and Architecture Portal provides access to art and architecture works including images, made available for free as a one year pilot through Yale University Press, and funded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. It provides among many things electronic access to out of print and backlist titles from the Press. Additional university presses and museum publishers are being added to this interactive platform.
Database: Art & Architecture Source
Description: Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
Database: America: History and Life with full text
Description: America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Database: Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Description: The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is updated daily.
Database: Bibliography of the History of Art
Description: Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. Covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Updated quarterly.
Database: British Periodicals
Description: British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
Vendor: Gale Cengage Learning
Description: A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.
Vendor: Adam Matthew Digital
Description: Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II) and the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London and the Cambridge University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals III). It brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature, the theater, and fashion throughout Europe; the origins and rise of Romanticism; political debates; gender, religion, influence of the press, and coffee house gossip and discussion.
Database: Empire Online
Vendor: Adam Matthew Digital
Description: Over 60,000 images of original manuscripts and printed material from 1492 to 1969. Includes historical essays and biographies.
Database: Grove Art Online
Description: Grove Art Online comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols) covering both Western and non-Western art, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh Brigstocke (2001), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. 14 simultaneous users only.
Database: Historical Abstracts with full text
Description: Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present.
Database: History E-Book Project
Vendor: American Council of Learned Societies
Description: Full-text of books in all areas of history.
Database: Index Islamicus
Description: Indexes materials on Islam, the Middle East, and the entire Muslim world from periodicals, monographs, and other collections in European languages. Includes coverage of arts and humanities, history, and social sciences topics. Coverage is 1906 to the present.
Database: Index of Medieval Art (Index of Christian art)
Vendor: Princeton University
Description: A thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval art objects to 1400, begun at Princeton University in 1917. Contains works indexed by the archive since 1991.
Description: Indexes 42 art journals published in the U.S. during the 19th century, (1840-1907) providing nearly complete coverage of journals from this period. The index describes the entire journal contents: articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements; and offers information on popular culture and industry, artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decorations, and collecting.
Database: International Medieval Bibliography
Description: Index to journal articles and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften) comprising 300,000 articles. Updated quarterly the IMB-Online covers publications from 1967-present with enhanced search capabilities (by periods, places, persons, and texts).
Description: Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Database: Oxford Bibliographies Online
Description: Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a range of subject areas. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies. SULinks is not optimized for some full text content. To definitively determine source availability search SU Libraries Collections.
Database: Oxford Handbooks Online
Description: Oxford Handbooks Online is a collection of multi-disciplinary handbooks. The series contain in-depth, high-level articles by scholars in the respective fields. Each handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field.
Database: Oxford Scholarship Online
Description: Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) is an online library offering access to thousands of academic works from Oxford University Press. OSO covers subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
Vendor: Alexander Street Press
Description: Includes diaries, letters, autobiographies and memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary from a very important period in American social and political history. Key themes: Arts, Music, and Leisure; Civil Rights; Counter-Culture; Environmental Movement; Gay and Lesbian Rights; Law and Government; Mass Media; New Left and Emerging Neo-Conservative Movement; Science and Technology; Student Activism; Vietnam War; and Women’s Movement.