OnArchitecture, produced by Diego Grass and out of Chile, is an online audiovisual service addressing critical thinking about architecture. It provides a global perspective of the discipline and an innovative way for faculty to add new content to their lectures.
OnArchitecture’s collection features original videos, such as interviews, buildings and installations, with a selection of complementary material–documents and audiovisuals–about the main authors and figures of contemporary architecture.
A subscription to this title will be purchased by fall.
Brown, Lori. Feminist Practices. London: Ashgate, 2011. (NA2543.F45 F46 2011)
Brown, Lori. Contested Space: Abortion Clinics, Women's Shelters and Hospitals : Politicizing the Femal Body. Farnham, Surrey : Burlington, VT: Ashgate Publishing Company, 2013 (NA2543.W65 B76 2013)
Bédard, Jean-François. Decorative Games: Ornament, Rhetoric, and Noble Culture in the Work of Gilles Marie Oppenord (1672-1742). Newark, DE: University of Delaware, 2011 (NK1449.Z9 O6633 2011)
Henderson, Susan R. Building Culture: Ernst May and the New Frankfurt Initiative. New York: Peter Lang, 2013 (NA9085.M39 H46 2013)
Lonsway, Brian. Making Leisure Work: Architecture and the Experience Economy. New York: Routledge, 2009 (NA 2543.R43.L66 2009)
Massey, Jonathan. Crystal and Arabesque: Claude Bragdon, ornament and Modern Architecture. Pittsburgh; University of Pittsburgh Press, 2009 (NA 737.B65. M37 2009)
As part of a global campaign to improve Wikipedia's coverage of women in architecture and to increase female contributors to Wikipedia, School of Architecture Professor Lori Brown and Architecture Librarian Barbara Opar will hold a Women in Architecture Wiki-a-thon on Monday October 12, beginning at 5 p.m. in the Architecture Reading Room in Slocum Hall. Participants will create, update, and improve Wikipedia articles covering the lives and works of women in architecture.
Students of all gender identities are welcome to participate; editorial experience is not required. The event will include basic instruction in how to create and update entries for those new to Wikipedia. Attendees are eligible to enter to win a book on women in architecture. Refreshments will be provided.
This event is part of larger efforts of ArchiteXX, Parlour (Melbourne), and n-ails (Berlin), supported by the Wikipedia Foundation, and in conjunction with the Guggenheim's Women in Architecture event, also happening this month.
For more information, contact Lori Brown or Barbara Opar.
Syracuse University Library launched its mobile website. Optimized for iPhone, Android, and Blackberry smartphones, the website offers quick, convenient access to core library information sources, including hours, contact information, and locations. No extra application is necessary; simply go to http://m.library.syr.edu/ from your smartphone.
The mobile website allows users to:
• Search the library catalog, WorldCat, JSTOR, and mobile versions of a number of Library databases
• Find the locations of all SU libraries and collections
• Get research help via text message, instant message, email, or phone
• Check library hours
• View floor maps of Bird Library
• Browse the Library staff directory and automatically email or place a call to anyone listed
• View library events
The mobile website will continue to grow and develop based on your feedback. Use the “Give us your feedback” link to convey your ideas and suggestions.
Andō, Tadao, and Yukio Futagawa. Tadao Ando: Recent Project 2. Tokyo: A.D.A. Edita Tokyo, 2013. Print.
Call# NA 1559 A5 A4 2013
Chilton, Pickard. Office Building of the Future. Victoria: Images Group, 2012. Print.
Call# NA 6230 O34 2012
Cohen, Jean-Louis. Le Corbusier: An Atlas of Modern Landscapes. New York: Museum of Modern Art, 2013. Print.
Call# NA 1053 J4 A4 2013
Crysler, Christopher Greig., Stephen Cairns, and Hilde Heynen. The SAGE Handbook of Architectural Theory. London [etc.: SAGE, 2012. Print.
Call# NA2500 .S24 2012
Friedman, Avi. Innovative Houses: Concepts for Sustainable Living. London: Laurence King, 2013. Print.
Call# TH 4860 F75 2013
Hung, Ying-Yu. Landscape Infrastructure: Case Studies by SWA. Basel: Birkhäuser, 2011. Print.
Call# SB 472 L363 2011
Lambert, Phyllis. Building Seagram. New Haven, CT: Yale UP, 2013. Print.
Call# NA 6233 N5 S43 2013
Maas, Winy. Agendas on Urbanism: MVRDV. Seoul: Equal, 2012. Print.
Call# NA 1153 M87 M93 2012
Marcus, George H. Houses of Louis Kahn. Boston: Yale UP, 2013. Print.
Call# NA 737 K32 M35 2013
Murray, Scott Charles. Translucent Building Skins: Material Innovations in Modern and Contemporary Architecture. New York: Routledge, 2012. Print.
Call# NA 2940 M89 2013
Oswald, Ansgar. Offices: Construction and Design Manual. Berlin: Dom Pub, 2013. Print.
Call# NA 2856 O89 2013
Parker, Dave, and Antony Wood. The Tall Buildings Reference Book. London: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2013. Print.
Call# NA 6230 T34 2013
Pearson, Christopher E. M. Designing UNESCO: Art, Architecture and International Politics at Mid-century. Farnham, Surrey: Ashgate, 2010. Print.
Call# NA 4184 .2 P43 2010
Phillip, Jodidio. 100 Contemporary Green Buildings Vol 1. Cologne: Taschen, 2013. Print.
Call# NA 2542 .36 J63 2013 V.1
Plunkett, Drew, and Olga Reid. Detail in Contemporary Hotel Design. London: Laurence King, 2013. Print
Call# NA 7800 P58 2013
Richters, Christian. Bolles Wilson: Recent Buildings and Projects. Basel: Birkhuser, 1997. Print.
Call# NA 997 A827 A4 1997
Robins, Anthony. Grand Central Terminal: 100 Years of a New York Landmark. New York: Stewart, Tabori & Chang, 2013. Print.
Call# NA 6313 N4 R63 2013
Somol, Robert, and Anne Rieselbach. Young Architects 14: No Precedent. New York: Princeton Architectural, 2013. Print.
Call# NA 2340 Y67995 2013
Tadgell, Christopher. Transformations: Baroque and Rococo in the Age of European Absolutism and the Church Triumphant. London [u.a.: Routledge, 2013. Print.
Call# NA 590 T33 2013
Weber, Susan. William Kent: Designing Georgian Britain. New Haven [u.a.: Yale Univ., 2013. Print.
Call# N 6797 K4 W53 2013
SURFACE is the acroyn for the Syracuse University Research Facility and Collaborative Environment; in other words, it is an online database of scholarly, professional, research and creative output from Syracuse University. Materials available under architecture include articles and other items such as book chapters published by faculty. Theses and thesis prep. submissions that have received a grade of B+ or better are among the many items on SURFACE.
Henderson, Susan R.
Romerstadt: the modern garden city
Vol. 25, No. 3, July 2010,
Will be updated for Fall 2014.
Will soon be updated for Fall 2014.