Skip to main content

Public Administration - Guide to Resources via Syracuse University Libraries

An SU Libraries' research starting points guide for public administration

Databases A-Z

Databases-Public Administration

A cross section of librarian recommended databases relevant to Public Administration and closely related disciplines.

Access World News [Newsbank] Contains full text content of local and regional newspapers, drawn from over 1200 individual U.S. and International sources. Dates of coverage vary.

AgeLine [Ebsco] Provides coverage of social gerontology -- the study of aging in social, psychological, health-related, and economic contexts. 1978+ with selected coverage back to 1966.

Archives of the Chinese Government [Oriprobe] Archives and publications of the Chinese central government, its ministries and subsidiaries, and regional authorities. The National People’s Congress and the National Committee of Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference are the official sources of information on the Chinese government and other political issues in China for this resource.

Archives of the Communist Party of China [Oriprobe] Archives and publications of the Communist Party of China since its establishment in 1921. Information from official organizations, i.e., the People's Daily Press, the Party Literature Research Office of the CPC Central Committee, the National People's Congress, and the National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference.

Business Source Elite [Ebsco] Full-text coverage for nearly 1,100 business publications and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,800 journals. Business Source Elite contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including the Harvard Business Review.

China Data Center [University of Michigan]  Integrates historical and social and natural science data in a geographic information system with the goal of supporting research in the human and natural components of local, regional, and global change; and promoting quantitative research on China, collaborative research in spatial studies, and the use and sharing of China data in teaching and research

CQ Researcher [Congressional Quarterly] An online encyclopedia addressing public policy issues. Dozens of reports are released each year, covering legislative action in areas ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health and nutrition, education, international affairs, economics and science and technology. Each report focuses on a single topic and features concise background discussion and chronologies, overviews of the current situation, pro and con commentary, as well as online links to relevant organizations, and a lengthy bibliography of related books and articles.

CQ Weekly [Congressional Quarterly] week by week non-partisan report on activity within the United States Congress. Discusses issues about to be addressed by Congress, summaries of the previous week's legislative events, status of bills pending before the House and Senate, committee and floor activity, and outcomes of roll call votes. Searchable by date, topic, latest votes.

Criminal Justice Abstracts [Proquest] Criminal Justice Abstracts provides comprehensive coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, and unparalleled access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. For each document, an informative summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided. Access Note: One simultaneous user only.

Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive [Databanks International]
Provides annual data from 1815 to the present for all countries for many variables of use to social scientists.  Includes some data coverage not found in sources like World Bank’s World Development Indicators or the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. For the list of FAQs about CNTS data, including countries and variables in the data set -  visit - http://www.databanksinternational.com/71.html

Data.gov [Federal CIO Council, General Services Administration]
Part of the open government initiative of the Barack Obama Presidential administration, Data.gov's mission is to increase the ability of the U.S. public to find, download and use datasets generated and held by the U.S. federal government.

Digital National Security Archive [Proquest] Contains more than 35,000 of the most important, declassified documents that led to US policy decisions.

EconLit [Proquest] Index and abstracts of over 400 economics journals, 500 collective volumes per year, plus books, dissertations, and working papers. Covers 1969 to the present.

Education Source [Ebsco] Provides indexing and abstracts for journals, books, and conference papers in all areas of education, including retrospective indexing back to the 1930's.

EIU [Economist Intelligence Unit] Analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment for almost 200 countries.

EMMA [Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board] ("Electronic Municipal Market Access") Comprehensive archive of various official statements for U.S. municipal bond offerings (with prospectus holdings that date back to 1990 and recent trade price data for specific bonds). EMMA data was formerly delivered via the offline CD product, MuniIRIS, and is provided by the Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board, the official regulatory agency for U.S. government bonds.

ERIC [Proquest] Index to over 800,000 references to variety of educational topics. Includes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. Covers 1966 to the present.

GenderWatch [Proquest] Provides full-text, international coverage of women's and gender issues, including family, childbirth, childcare, sexual harassment, aging, body image, eating disorders, and social roles. It also includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles on areas such as the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime, education, research and scholarship, family, health care, politics, religion, and sports. Covers 1970 to the present.

GPO Monthly Catalog [FirstSearch] Index of documents produced by US Government Printing Office. Contains records of reports, studies, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, conference proceedings, etc., issued by all US federal government agencies, including the US Congress. Also included are records of all of the Senate and House hearings on private and public bills and laws. Contains a wealth of information on a wide range of topics including agriculture, economics, energy research, public policy, tax reform, business law, health, and many other subjects. 1976 - present.

iPoll Databank [Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, University of Connecticut]
The leading repository for public opinion data in the U.S.  Roper iPoll Databank draws upon academic, media and commercial polls originating from more than 150 organizations.  Covers over one half million polling questions and responses from 1935 to the present.  Features include question level retrieval with links to full results, links from questions to study abstracts and questionnaires, and unlimited download of datasets via RoperExpress (in SPSS or ASCII formats).  Once inside the database – users can also register for accounts that enhance their ability to manipulate and save search results. 

JSTOR [JSTOR] Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, and the social sciences.


Leadership Library on the Internet [Leadership Directories, Inc.]
Online version of 14 Leadership directory yellow books: Congressional yellow book, Federal yellow book, State yellow book, Municipal yellow book, Federal regional yellow book, Judicial yellow book, Corporate yellow book, Financial yellow book, News media yellow book, Associations yellow book, Law firms yellow book, Government affairs yellow book, Foreign representatives yellow book, and: Nonprofit sector yellow book.

Local and Regional Government Information: How to find it, how to use it [Greenwood] This is an easily-used electronic reference book and guide to the basics of locating local and regional government information, from what to look for to what to expect in results. From legal codes and court records to police reports and school and zoning records, the maze of government agencies and information holdings are compiled into chapters with easy headings for quick consultation.

NCJRS [National Criminal Justice Reference Service - Free Web resource] Covers all aspects of law enforcement and criminal justice, including: police, courts, corrections, juvenile justice, community crime prevention, criminal justice system, fraud, waste, and abuse in government programs. 1972 - present.

Nexis Uni - [LexisNexis] Access more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, together with extensive current and historical U.S. state and federal statutes, published court decisions and regulations. Registering for a free ID and password within the interface is recommended for those looking to take advantage of personalization features such as alerts, saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. Licensed for SU only. Available to Law School users from SU campus only.

OECD iLibrary [Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development] "OECD iLibrary is OECD’s Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. ... OECD iLibrary users at subscribing institutions are able to conduct searches, retrieve listings of publications meeting the search criteria, and choose to download selected titles in various formats, or selected statistical data in spreadsheet format. Access is available for titles published from January 1998 onwards."

PAIS International [Proquest] Index to articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public and international affairs. Covers 1914 to the present.

Polling the Nations [ORS Publishing] A database of polls taken on a variety of subjects all over the world. Each record in the database consists of one poll question and the participants' responses. Records are indexed by subject matter, publication year, general and specific location, and survey method. Other information provided includes: source name and contact information, sample size, and notes on the sample population. The data are gathered from professional polling organizations, television networks, universities, newspapers, businesses and associations.

POPLINE [Johns Hopkins] POPLINE provides citations with abstracts of the worldwide literature on population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE is maintained by the Population Information Program at the Johns Hopkins School of Hygiene and Public Health. Contains over 290,000 records representing published and unpublished literature in the field.

Proquest [Proquest]  Large reference database containing articles from popular magazines, business periodicals, and academic publications, covering a wide range of topics including the arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural issues, psychology, sciences, social sciences and women's interests.

Proquest Congressional [Proquest] Comprehensive access to US legislative information.

Proquest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [Proquest] Full-page images and article images from the Los Angeles times under all its title variants.

Proquest Historical Newspapers: New York Times [Proquest] Full page scans from The New York Times newspaper with searchable article text back to the first issue in 1851. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within 3 to 4 years of the current date.

Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal [Proquest] Known globally for its coverage of business and economics. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of this publication in 1889. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within about 18 years of the current date.

Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post [Proquest] Access to over 100 years of political reporting and other news within the first newspaper in Washington DC to publish seven days per week. Fully imaged page scans from 1877. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within about 17 years of the current date.

Public Administration Abstracts [Ebsco] Covers journal literature and others sources in essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and the like.

Sage Journals Online [Sage] Full text access to approximately 500 journals in numerous disciplines. Especially strong in health management/public administration, sociology, psychology and communications.

Scopus [Elsevier] The world's largest abstract and citation database, with over 33 million records. Its coverage of Scientific, Technical, Medical and Social Sciences literature includes 15,000 peer-reviewed journals, 1,200 open-access journals, 500 conference proceedings, over 600 trade publications, and 200 book series. Scopus also covers 386 million quality web sources, including 22 million patents.

Sociological Abstracts [Proquest] 
Bibliographic coverage of sociology, social work, aging, gerontology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy and other social sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Covers 1952 to the present.

Statistical Insight [Proquest] Comprehensive access to US statistical information.

TRACfed & TRAC [Syracuse University] Syracuse University based online services that report on the criminal enforcement activities of U.S. federal agencies, including analysis of law enforcement staffing and expenditures.

ULI Development Case Studies [Urban Land Institute] Hundreds of detailed case studies of completed projects ranging from low-income housing to mixed-use downtown developments to commercial and industrial projects. The case studies provide photographs and site plans, information on costs and rents, innovative features and strategies of the project, and an explanation of the entire development process. Covers projects from 1985 to the present. Thirty new case studies are added every year.  Access note:  SU Libraries access to these cases - does not allow for numerous multiple simultaneous users.  Access, as of Fall 2013, is one user at a time, expanding to three simultaneous users no later than 2014.  Although rare, inability to login - may periodically be due to another researcher using the system.  Please remember to intentionally 'logout' of the site when you finish your research session.

Web of Science [Thompson ISI] Citation index to well over 8000 authoritative, high impact journals, including 200 open access journals, covered by Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900 - present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present).

World Bank eLibrary [World Bank] The World Bank’s subscription-based collection of nearly 6,000 books, reports, journals, and working papers ... contains only the final, peer-reviewed versions of the Bank’s formal publications.

World Development Indicators Online [World Bank] Contains statistical data for over 590 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Data can be exported in standard formats like Excel.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [Proquest] Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / public policy.

 

New @ SU Libraries since 2014 - eMarketer

eMarketer is a repository of data and discussion about digital marketing, media and ecommerce.  Covers information environments and technologies that some traditional industry and market research databases overlook, with a focus that includes mobile computing, online advertising, tablets, smartphones, mobile payments and more.  The eMarketer database curates a large collection of presentation friendly data visualizations, which draw upon thousands of published industry sources and leadership interviews.  Concise, single topic summary reports are included to assist with the development of media strategies, budgeting and other data driven presentations and analysis.  Digital market data for numerous countries are represented, with over 10,000 new data charts added each year.   Download options include Excel, PowerPoint, JPG and PDF.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Has been described as “The World’s Largest Collection of Organized Statistical Data.”

Once inside Data-Planet Statistical Datasets, look toward the left of the screen for a series of subject folders.  The "International" folder draws datapoints from sources such as the International Monetary Fund, World Bank, United Nations and China Data Center as well as World Resource Institute environmental data.  Additional categories cover foreign labor statistics, population change/migration, and balance of trade data.  Data categories covered for the U.S. include education, commerce, housing and construction, population and income, prices and cost of living, energy, health, labor & employment, banking, finance and insurance.  Variables can be cross-compared using side by side tables and charts.

Google Scholar

Many researchers use free tools like Google Scholar (GS) to identify helpful books or journal articles.  Check the SU Libraries online classic catalog and/or journals list for title availability at Syracuse.  For titles not at SU, consider submitting an interlibrary loan request via the library's ILLIAD service.