Search citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses from Syracuse University, from 1870 to the present. Full text and 24 page previews are provided for dissertations published through ProQuest, primarily from 1997.
Alternative access for Syracuse University College of Law users only: Click here
African American Archives provides over one million pages of original historical documents pertaining to the African American experience over several centuries, with the materials coming from Essential Records Concerning Slavery and Emancipation from the Danish West Indies (1672-1917). In addition, there are several other slavery-related collections, including letters, account books, annual reports, and news clippings.
This collection of newspapers contains a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. They also contain large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which em
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion. and much more.
The Chicago Defender (1905-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. BSC provides the full text backfile, from 1910 to 1975, of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender. Robert Sengstacke Abbott founded the Defender in May 1905 and by the outbreak of the First World War it had become the most widely-read black newspaper in the country, with more than two thirds of its readership based outside Chicago. When Abbott died in 1940, his nephew John Sengstacke became editor and publisher of the Defender, which began publishing on a daily basis in 1956.
Searchable, full-text version of The Liberator published in chronological parts. An influential newspaper in the antebellum, antislavery crusade in the United States, published in Boston, Massachusetts, by William Lloyd Garrison.
Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
Other important databases for specific paper topics
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
International literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, gerontology, and linguistics. 1887 - present; updated monthly.
Bibliographic coverage of sociology, social work, aging, gerontology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy and other social sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Covers 1952 to the present; updated six times per year.