Skip to main content

Kenya National Archives: Visiting Scholars

The Kenya National Archives is a collection of documents of the Kenyan government during the colonial period to independence.

Directions

Directions to Bird Library

(see also the Syracuse University Libraries' website/Visitor's Guide/Directions http://library.syr.edu/about/visit/liblocation/index.php)

 

From the New York State Thruway (Rt. 90)
Take Exit 36 and follow Route 81 South towards Syracuse. Proceed according to the following directions from Rt. 81:

.

From Route 81 South
Take Exit 18 and follow Almond Street underneath Route 81. Turn left on Adams Street and continue past Upstate Medical Center to University Avenue (4th traffic light). Turn right on University Avenue and proceed to Waverly Avenue (2nd intersection). Turn left on Waverly Avenue. Bird Library is the second building on your right.

.

From Route 81 North
Take Exit 18 and turn right on Adams Street. Continue past Upstate Medical Center to University Avenue (4th traffic light). Turn right on University Avenue and proceed to Waverly Avenue (2nd intersection). Turn left on Waverly Avenue. Bird Library is the second building on your right.

Orientation

Scholars not affiliated with Syracuse University are always welcome at Syracuse University Libraries to come and make use of the Kenya National Archive (KNA) collections. Scholars are encouraged to contact the Libraries' subject specialist for African Studies prior to their arrival in order to arrange for a brief introduction to the Libraries,  the Libraries' staff, and Archive collections (see the adjoining column on the right for the specialist's name, email address and phone number).
 
For scholars not affiliated with Syracuse University, please be advised of the Libraries' policy for Library usage in the evening:

Bird Library will be open to those unaffiliated with Syracuse University until 8 p.m. most days.  Syracuse University Libraries require an SU/ESF ID for Waverly Avenue entrance to Bird Library beginning at 8 p.m.   At that time, Libraries security staff and floor monitors will check the IDs of everyone already in the building. Anyone without an SU/ESF ID will be required to leave.  

Technology Support for Research

The Kenya National Archives and the Archives of other African Nations are largely kept on microfilm and housed on the 3rd floor of Bird Library.  To support these collections, Bird Library has two reader/scanner workstations. Library staff at the service desk on the 3rd floor will be happy to guide users with the hardware. Printers are also available throughout Bird Library. 

Suggested technology that scholars may want to consider bringing and using:

1. Laptop
For wireless network access while on campus, see this guide for steps:
Wireless Network Access for Visitors to Syracuse University

2. USB drive(s) to download or save microfilm pages or other documents.

3. To print or to obtain wireless access as a guest of Syracuse University Libraries, take a look at this page:
https://answers.syr.edu/display/library/Guests+and+Visitors#GuestsandVisitors-SUGuests/VisitorsPrinting 

There is also a computer terminal in case scholars wish to download microfilm pages to a USB drive to print or download elsewhere.

Parking, housing, food

Parking
Metered parking is available in front of Bird Library, as well as on Walnut Ave.

There is also visitors' parking in Booth Garage at the corner of Waverly and Comstock Aves.
http://parking.syr.edu/Parking/display.cfm?content_ID=%23%28%28%29%2B%0A

 

Housing
Syracuse University does not provide housing for visiting scholars or researchers, but there are a few options for housing nearby, including:

Sheraton University Hotel

801 University Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13210
Phone: 315-475-3000 • Fax: 315-475-2266
Toll Free Reservations: 800-395-2105

Location: The Sheraton is located at the corner of University Avenue and Waverly Avenue, across the street from the Schine Student Center and a block from the library. Marshall Street and the Marshall Square Mall are within a block of the hotel.

Listing of other accomodation options may be found from this link:
http://www.syr.edu/admissions/undergraduate/visitus/accommodations_vu.html

Food
Marshall Street and South Crouse Ave., located on the Syracuse University campus, and a block from the the Library, has a mall and a variety of shops and eating spots, including ethnic and fast food.