Skip to main content
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Libraries

African Studies: Journals

African studies is multidisciplinary in scope, and this site covers print and electronic sources on Africa that will be relevant to Syracuse University scholars.

Find Journals

You can use the SU Libraries' Journal locator to search our directory of over 28,000 titles

 


 

 

African Affairs


 

SURFACE

Syracuse University's major initiative in open access and preservation of scholarly and creative output emanating from the University is the SU Library hosted database SURFACE ("Syracuse University Research Facility and Collaborative Environment")

SU Libraries' journals

Search the Summon catalog for complete print and e-journal holdings:

Open Access African Sources

AfricaBib.org
AfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles, presented in one easily accessible location on the internet. The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database) and African Women's literature (African Women Bibliographic Database). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa Bibliographic Database).

Archive of African Journals - Michigan State University
The African e-Journals Project is a project of the Michigan State University African Studies Center, MSU Libraries, and Matrix: The Center for Humane Arts, Letters, and Social Science Online. It is co-sponsored by the Association of African Universities and the African Studies Association in the U.S.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
The aim of DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.

Eldis - Africa South of the Sahara
The aim of Eldis is to:support the documentation, exchange and use of evidence-based development knowledge; and to communicate this knowledge effectively through a range of appropriately designed services, using the Internet (web and email) as the main communication medium for delivery(website).

SABINET: African Journals Archive
Sabinet is a retrospective digitisation project of full-text journal articles published in Africa, in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities.

SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online - South Africa
This is an electronic library covering a selected collection of South African scientific and social science journals.


Free Web-based Journals

African Affairs - free virtual issue
This collection draws together recent publications on Kenya ahead of the next general elections on 4 March. All papers are open access until the end of 2013, so you just need to click on the links to download them.

African Journal of Information and Communication
The African Journal of Information and Communication is published by the Learning Information Networking and Knowledge (LINK) Centre, Graduate School of Public and Development Management, Univ. of Witwatersrand, South Africa.  It is published as a forum for research, scholarship and academic debate within the broad ICT sector across the continent of Africa.

Feminist Africa
Feminist Africa provides a forum for progressive, cutting-edge gender research and feminist dialogue focused on the continent. By prioritising intellectual rigor, the journal seeks to challenge the technocratic fragmentation resulting from donor-driven and narrowly developmentalist work on gender in Africa.

Journal of Pan African Studies
JPAS is a trans-disciplinary peer reviewed scholarly journal devoted to the intellectual synthesis of research, scholarship and critical thought on the African experience.