Government Publications at Syracuse University
The government documents collection includes all types of government publications in all formats. The SU Libraries has been a part of the Federal Depository Library Program for 140 years since it was designated by US Congressional Representative Frank Hiscock on Feb 7, 1878. We currently select 70% of all documents available to depository libraries. We also collect other government publications that include:
The collection includes over 500,000 paper items, thousands of items in electronic format, over 4,000 CD-ROMS and DVDs, and over 1 million microfiche. Materials are located on the 3rd floor of Bird Library. Most government publications can be searched for by using the Classic Catalog or SUMMON
This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)
Updated March 23, 2018
The FY2018 omnibus spending bill that was passed on March 23 mandates that the Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports will now be available online through the Library of Congress. This ensures that this document source will be permanently available to the public.
All are welcome to use the Government Documents Collection when ever the library is open to the public. (8am - 8pm M-F, 10am - 8pm Sat/Sun). Please refer to the Use and Conduct policy for more information on using any of the Libraries. Please refer to the Visiting the Library guide on using the Libraries online catalog and any of the databases.
For Documents information on CD-ROMs and DVDs there is a stand-alone CD-ROM computer available for use. Just ask at the 3rd floor service desk.
USB access keys are available for patrons who wish to use the computers to access government information from the databases. Ask for assistance at the 3rd floor service desk.