Skip to main content

ETS 154 - Interpretation of Film (Fall 2016): Journals & Magazines

Selected resources for the final paper in Professor Scheibel's ETS 154 course.

On this list...

Use the databases on these lists to locate full-text articles and references for articles for your research. These databases have been selected to assist you in identifying film and film criticism resources.

More databases, on a wide variety of subjects are also available from the Database Main Menu.

Databases with full-text access to Film Journals and Magazines

 

The resources in this list, are, for the most part, databases of full-text articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and some reference works. Some may only offer full-text for a portion of their coverage.

FIAF: Index to Film Periodicals Plus
FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus is a bibliographical resource offering coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals right up to the present day. Many of these key titles are available here in full text including complete runs.

Film & television literature indexCovers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.

Film literature index
The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Provides searchable access to the full-text of more than two dozen major entertainment industry and popular magazines from the late Nineteenth Century to 2000. Titles include the core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater, as well as many film fan magazines and music press titles.

International Index to the Performing Arts
Full-text of scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry-including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more.

ARTbibliographies Modern
Index with abstracts to journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 13,000 new entries being added each year.

MLA Bibliography
Over one million citations for items from journals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, bibliographies, and websites from over 4,000 sources.Covers literature, film, linguistics, and folklore.

Humanities Full Text
Full-text access to articles in journals covering Communications, Folklore, Gender Studies, Journalism, Literary & Social Criticism, and Literature. Titles include American Literary Realism, Folklore Forum, Frontiers: A Journal of Women's Studies, Narrative, Public Culture, StoryQuarterly, and Transition: An International Review.



  •  

Film Industry Publications of Note

There are many film industry sources in Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive-- try searching your film and director there.

Make sure to search within the following two film industry publications in your research: