Skip to main content
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Libraries

Anthropology: Home

Anthropology - How to Use this Guide

Use the tabs above to find some of the best online resources licensed exclusively for SU students and faculty by the Syracuse University Libraries.
Start your research at the Syracuse University Libraries' website.  From here you can: search for books, videos, databases that offer access to journal and newspaper articles, electronic sources, multimedia and web links.
You may begin with the Libraries' Research Assistance page to begin your research strategy, to get help with Libraries' collections, and for advanced research tips and tools.

Looking for Ethnographies

Searching for anthropological studies can be a challenge, but a group of anthropology librarians in the American Library Association has created a cheat sheet to help you search for ethnographies.

What are the best ways to find Ethnographies?

Anthropology Style Guide

AAA Style Guide - NOW Use the Chicago Manual of Style (author/date)

September 9, 2015- After much consideration of publishing standards and member input, AAA has decided to cease production of the AAA Style Guide. AAA style now adheres fully to the current edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (Author-Date) which can be located on their website or on the SU Library website .

(American Anthropological Association - Stay Informed -website )

Subfields of Anthropology

Interpretations of sub-fields according to the
Anthropology at Syracuse focuses on permutations of socio-cultural anthropology, historical archaeology and bio-archaeology. (Dept. of Anthropology website)


NEW!! Smithsonian's AnthroNotes now available - Digital Format

AnthroNotes Digital Database

Thanks to a joint effort of the Smithsonian’s Department of Anthropology and Smithsonian Libraries, anyone now can download in-depth, research-based essays and classroom tested teaching activities on a wide range of topics through the AnthroNotes digital database.

The entire collection of 84 issues of AnthroNotes (1979-2012) and 263 selected individual AnthroNotes articles, each with a new abstract, can be downloaded from the Smithsonian Libraries’ Official Digital Repository.  Individual articles are offered in three formats, designed for computers (PDF), mobile devices (mobi), and e-readers (E-Pub).  Articles are free of copyright restrictions; photocopying for classroom use is permitted and encouraged. All 263 individual articles, as well as the 84 issues of AnthroNotes, are also searchable through Google and the Smithsonian Collections Database (search term: AnthroNotes). (AnthroNotes editors)

Field Location - West Africa

Waterfront, Cape Coast, Ghana