Encyclopedias and Handbooks will give you a great overview of a given topic. They will also help you develop terminology useful for searching across more narrowly focused articles (via databases tab).
Please note: the databases listed here search across eBook collections relevant to Public Health.
Encyclopedia of Health Communication by
From the dynamics of interpersonal communication between health professionals and clients to global command-and-control during public health emergencies that cross international borders, the field of health communication bridges many disciplines and involves efforts from the micro to the macro. It involves navigating personal, cultural, and political complexities and an ability to distill complex technical science into quickly and easily understood terms for ready distribution by the mass media--or to an individual patient or to the parent of an ailing child. Despite an abundance of textbooks, specialized monographs, and academic handbooks, this is the first encyclopedic reference work in this area, covering the breadth of theory and research on health communication, as well as their practical application. Features: Nearly 600 original articles are organized A-to-Z within a three-volume set to provide comprehensive coverage of this exciting field, including such topics as theories and research traditions; evaluation and assessment; cultural complexities; high risk and special populations; message design and campaigns; provider/patient interaction issues; media issues; and more. All articles were specifically commissioned for this work, signed and authored by key figures in the field, and conclude with cross reference links and suggestions for further reading. Appendices include a Resource Guide with annotated lists of classic books and articles, journals, associations, and web sites; a Glossary of specialized terms; and a Chronology offering an overview and history of the field. A thematic Reader's Guide groups related articles by broad topic areas as one handy search feature on the e-Reference platform, which also includes a comprehensive index of search terms. This A-to-Z three-volume reference is available in both print and online formats and is a must-have for libraries and researchers who seek comprehensive coverage of the theory, research, and applications of health communication. Key Themes: Community Health Issues End-of-Life Issues Evaluation of Health Intervention, Health Education, Health Communication Everyday and Family Health Communication Issues Health Campaigns Health Communication, International and Diversity Issues Health Information History of Health Communication Media Content Organizational Issues and Health Policy Provider-Patient Interaction Public Health Communication Specific Health Issues/Providers Technology Theories, Ethics, Philosophy, and Overriding Methodological Issues
Handbook of Research on Adult and Community Health Education by
Medical breakthroughs and adult literacy have made it easier than ever before to acquire the knowledge, skills, and values needed to lead a productive and satisfying life, yet many Americans have difficulty understanding and acting upon the health information they acquire. The Handbook of Research on Adult and Community Health Education: Tools, Trends, and Methodologies presents educational and social science perspectives on the state of the healthcare industry and the information technologies surrounding it. It presents a collection of the latest research on methods, programs, and procedures practiced by health literate societies. This groundbreaking compilation provides cutting-edge content for researchers, social scientists, academicians, and adult educators and learners interested in how available technologies affect our health today.
International Encyclopedia of Public Health by
International Encyclopedia of Public Health, Second Edition is an authoritative and comprehensive guide to the major issues, challenges, methods, and approaches of global public health. Taking a multidisciplinary approach, this new edition combines complementary scientific fields of inquiry, linking biomedical research with the social and life sciences to address the three major themes of public health research, disease, health processes, and disciplines. This book helps readers solve real-world problems in global and local health through a multidisciplinary and comprehensive approach. Covering all dimensions of the field, from the details of specific diseases, to the organization of social insurance agencies, the articles included cover the fundamental research areas of health promotion, economics, and epidemiology, as well as specific diseases, such as cancer, cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, and reproductive health. Additional articles on the history of public health, global issues, research priorities, and health and human rights make this work an indispensable resource for students, health researchers, and practitioners alike. Provides the most comprehensive, high-level, internationally focused reference work available on public health Presents an invaluable resource for both researchers familiar with the field and non-experts requiring easy-to-find, relevant, global information and a greater understanding of the wider issues Contains interdisciplinary coverage across all aspects of public health Incorporates biomedical and health social science issues and perspectives Includes an international focus with contributions from global domain experts, providing a complete picture of public health issues
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading
Oxford Handbook of Nutrition and Dietetics by
Fully updated, the Oxford Handbook of Nutrition and Dietetics, second edition is a practical quick-reference guide to the vital and valued subject of nutrition in the prevention and treatment of disease and the maintenance of good health. This handbook will be an invaluable companion for alldieticians, nutritionists, and nurses, as well as doctors and students in a variety of specialities.Concise and bulleted, this handbook takes an integrated approach which facilitates the links between all aspects of nutrition and dietetics. Including nutritional science and based on clinical evidence, it covers everything you will need to be able to carry out your role effectively and confidently.Sections on obesity and a new chapter on international nutrition are timely and topical. Also included is information on nutrition assessment, popular diets, nutrition in systems-based diseases, rarer conditions, as well as helpful lists of foods rich in or free from certain nutrients, and normalrange guides and handy reference values. This handbook makes sure the relevant information is at your fingertips whenever you need it, with links to further reading and online sources.
Public Health and Welfare: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools, and Applications by
The prevention and treatment of diseases is a primary concern for any nation in modern society. To maintain an effective public health system, procedures and infrastructure must be analyzed and enhanced accordingly. Public Health and Welfare: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools, and Applications provides a comprehensive overview of the latest research perspectives on public health initiatives and promotion efforts. Highlighting critical analyses and emerging innovations on an international scale, this book is a pivotal reference source for professionals, researchers, academics, practitioners, and students interested in the improvement of public health infrastructures.
Routledge Handbook of Food and Nutrition Security by
The concept of food and nutrition security has evolved and risen to the top of the international policy agenda over the last decade. Yet it is a complex and multi-faceted issue, requiring a broad and inter-disciplinary perspective for full understanding. This Handbook represents the most comprehensive compilation of our current knowledge of food and nutrition security from a global perspective. It is organized to reflect the wide scope of the contents, its four sections corresponding to the accepted current definitional frameworks prevailing in the work of multilateral agencies and mainstream scholarship. The first section addresses the struggles and progression of ideas and debates about the subject in recent years. The other sections focus on three key themes: how food has been, is and should be made available, including by improvements in agricultural productivity; the ways in which politico-economic and social arenas have shaped access to food; and the effects of food and nutrition systems in addressing human health, known as food utilisation. Overall, the volume synthesizes a vast field of information drawn from agriculture, soil science, climatology, economics, sociology, human and physical geography, the nutrition and health sciences, environmental science and development studies.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food Issues by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food Issues explores the topic of food across multiple disciplines within the social sciences and related areas including business, consumerism, marketing, and environmentalism. In contrast to the existing reference works on the topic of food that tend to fall into the categories of cultural perspectives, this carefully balanced academic encyclopedia focuses on social and policy aspects of food production, safety, regulation, labeling, marketing, distribution, and consumption. A sampling of general topic areas covered includes Agriculture, Labor, Food Processing, Marketing and Advertising, Trade and Distribution, Retail and Shopping, Consumption, Food Ideologies, Food in Popular Media, Food Safety, Environment, Health, Government Policy, and Hunger and Poverty. This encyclopedia introduces students to the fascinating, and at times contentious, and ever-so-vital field involving food issues. Key Features: Contains approximately 500 signed entries concluding with cross-references and suggestions for further readings Organized A-to-Z with a thematic "Reader's Guide" in the front matter grouping related entries by general topic area Provides a Resource Guide and a detailed and comprehensive Index along with robust search-and-browse functionality in the electronic edition. This three-volume reference work will serve as a general, non-technical resource for students and researchers who seek to better understand the topic of food and the issues surrounding it.