A selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books and magazines for children from preschool through sixth grade, along with review sources and other professional aids for children's librarians and school media specialists.
Provides "help with collection development and maintenance, curriculum support, readers' advisory, and general reference. You will find thousands of entries for nonfiction works, fiction and collections for children and adolescents, plus review sources and other professional aids for librarians
Senior High School Library Catalog is a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books for young adults in grades nine through twelve, along with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. It consists of fiction titles, nonfiction titles, and short story collections.
Fiction Catalog is a selective annotated list of fiction for adults that includes both established and contemporary works either written in or translated into English. Out-of-print titles are included, and analytical entries are made for composite works.
Public Library Catalog is a selective annotated list of nonfiction and reference works with analytical entries for anthologies, collections, and parts of books. Works are classified by subject according to the Dewey Decimal Classification.
TeachingBooks.net is an online database is developed and maintained to include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers. It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.
Alternative access for Syracuse University College of Law users only: Click here
Contact a Librarian
For assistance or to request an appointment, please email:
Index to book reviews of fiction, non-fiction, and children's and young adult literature. Entries include abstracts of the reviews, and also some full-text reviews. Coverage is 1983 to present, English language publications.
How to Find the Full Article Online
When searching these databases, this link: will take you to the online journal articles available through our SU Library subscriptions.