1947 film on book production from the Internet Archive. Click here for more viewing options.
This film from the Internet Archive shows the work of bookbinders and the final steps in the process of
manufacturing printed books. From the "Americans at Work" series. Has anything changed since 1947?
Fundamentals of Preservation: The Fundamentals of Preservation (FOP) web course is an introduction to the principles, policies and practices of preservation in libraries and archives. It is designed to inform all staff, across divisions and departments and at all levels of responsibility. Provides tools to begin extending the useful life of library collections. Offered by ALA/ALCTS.
Preservation 101: Preservation basics for paper and media collections. Presented by the Northeast Document Conservation Center (NEDCC)
Preservation Education Curriculum: An expanded version of Preservation 101 for paper and media collections. Presented by the Northeast Document Conservation Center (NEDCC)
Topics in Preservation Series: Special TOPS 50th Event: Introduction to the Work of the New Preservation Science Laboratories of the Library of Congress
Preservation Education Directory: Last published in 2002, the Preservation Education Directory has recently been edited and updated with current contact information and course listings for graduate level preservation and preservation-related courses at colleges and universities in the U.S. and Canada. The Preservation Education Directory also lists institutions and organizations that provide continuing education courses in preservation.
Book Damage Atlas: This tool enables one to recognize damage and determine its extent. The Atlas presents the descriptions
of types and categories of damage with illustrative photos. The damage to books is assessed visually. The instructions for carrying
out paper pH and double fold tests are also included.
International Preservation News: The International Centre of IFLA publishes three times a year the newsletter, "International Preservation News", that reports on the preservation activities and events that support efforts to preserve materials in the world's libraries and archives.
Journal of Conservation and Museum Studies: This journal is fully peer reviewed and Open Access. It contains research on conservation science, artefact studies, restoration, museum studies, environment studies, collection management and curation. Published from the Institute of Archaeology at University College London from 1992 to 2002, the journal is to be relaunched in 2011 in collaboration with the British Library, with a newly constituted international editorial board.
Book Repair Basics: This webinar familiarizes viewers with different aspects of circulating collections book repair for school, public, and academic library staff by showing basic descriptions of techniques, images, and video. Selected resources for training, both hands-on and online are provided at the end. Presented as an ALCTS webinar on September 14th, 2011.
The Graphics Atlas: Graphics Atlas is a new online resource that brings sophisticated print identification and characteristic exploration tools to archivists, curators, historians, collectors, conservators, educators, and the general public. The Image Permanence Institute at the Rochester Institute of Technology began initial development of this resource in 2006.