Skip to main content

Book Arts @ Syracuse University Libraries: Examples in SCRC

Description of book arts @ Syracuse University Libraries. Features bibliographies of books at SUL, links to online resources, and examples by structure.

Featured Resources

The Book Arts Web: Most comprehensive site for book arts resources.

The Bonefolder

The Bonefolder: an e-journal for the bookbinder and book artist

Book_Arts-L: Listserv for all the book arts. Link at the Book Arts Web in the sidebar on the left side of the page. Includes online archive going back to 1994.

Examples in SCRC

These items are all available for viewing in the Reading Room of the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC), 6th floor, E.S. Bird Library. Visit and use policies are here.

Miscellaneous


B the title of this piece is for Brooklyn - it stands also for Book. Both offer a rich tradition to draw from. It is a sampling of ideas depicting the ethnic, cultural, historical, and natural diversities to be found in Brooklyn. Bis the result of a collaboration between the Library of the Brooklyn Museum of Art and the Art of the Book curriculum at Pratt Institute under the direction of Werner Pfeiffer.

Location: Bird-Spec Coll
Call Number: Uncataloged


Pickings: a student publication by the Art of the Book class at Pratt Institute. As the title suggests, this is a selection of different ideas and concepts of can constitute a book. The collection of works was produced as a class project within the facilities of Pratt Institute under the direction of Werner Pfeiffer.

Location: Bird-Spec Coll
Call Number: Uncataloged


The Revolving Alphabet: Structure would have been held together at the center allowing the top disk to rotate, revealing the different letters beneath.

Location: Bird-Spec Coll
Call Number: Uncataloged


Revolving Interest: Interest calculator. Structure as above.

Location: Bird-Spec Coll
Call Number: Uncataloged


Beaut.E (Code) : computer professionals reflect on the art in software,by Karen Hanmer: Title card and the 34 text cards are punched, and rectos have one line, a thought about art in software, printed across the top. The non-punched colophon card is printed on verso with note, "Text is drawn from group interviews and written questionnaires conducted in 2001-2002", followed by an alphabetical list of names of the 48 computer professionals who participated, and concluding with acknowledgment to "the generosity of the Hillside Group and Janet Dykstra." The cards are held together with a 1 cm. wide orange rubber band with a quote from one of the text cards printed on it in black, "It is a living thing".

Location: Bird-Spec Coll
Call Number: N7433.4 .H36 2002b


Traditional Palmleaf Manuscript: Written upon palm leaves are bound together by the string going through the center. String is wrapped around the leaves for storage and transport.

Location: Bird-Spec Coll
Call Number: Uncataloged - Housed with manuscripts.

Concertina / Accordion


Twenty-six Words, by Thorsten Dennerline. Concertina with leather-edged covers. Painted acrylic panels inlaid into cover. Accordion format equal to approx. 9 feet. Each copy has a unique cover.
Peter Verheyen, binder. Limited edition of 10 copies.

Location: Bird-Spec Coll
Call Number: N7433.4.D46 T9 1998


Jonah and the Whale, by Jason Chin: Concertina telling the story of Jonah and the Wahle in one continuous panel. Total length ca. 27 feet.

Location: Bird-Spec Coll
Call Number: N7433.4 .C44 2000


Palmleaf Manuscript: Woven palm leaves folded into a concertina structure.

Location: Bird-Spec Coll
Call Number: Uncataloged - Housed with miniature books.


Winter Light, by Jocelyn Webb: "... made in an edition of only nine books by Jocelyn S. Webb, in November of 1999. Each copy has an original Sumi ink drawing on Handmade Okiwara paper and was then submerged in bees wax. The text was letterpress printed directly into wax. The covers are bees waxed Okiwara paper over boards"--Colphon.

Location: Bird-Spec Coll
Call Number: N7433.4.W42 W5 1999


Some Stories of Sainthood and Propagation, by Sandra Schwimmer. Structure composed of two concertina folds in a wrapper.

Location: Bird-Spec Coll
Call Number: N7433.4 .S38 1984s


Real Things People Said And I Didn't Know What To Say, by Thorsten Dennerline. Text and images on concertina which is bound into full leather cover with faux long-stitch sewing at spine. Plate from image 3 embedded in cover.

Location: Bird-Spec Coll
Call Number: N7433.4.D46 R4 1997


The Myth of Justice, by John Pusateri. Signed artists' book, #2 of 3: accordion folded, bound in folded light grey paper, title in grey on black. "Dedicated to Amadou Diallo, an unarmed West African immigrant who was shot 19 times in a hail of 41 bullets by four NYC police officers, February 4, 1999"--P. [46]

Location: Bird-Spec Coll
Call Number: N7433.4 .P87 2000

Concertina-based \ Accordion-based


They All Laughed, by Karen Hanmer: Photographs and archival documents pertaining to the Wright Brothers' first manned, powered flight, contrasted with the Gershwin song, They All Laughed, that lists a number of screwball ideas for inventions that became the foundation of modern society. When fully extended on one side the flags form a panorama of the airplane in flight over the ocean. Opened as pages one side has 2 flags with Wright's text and the airplane photo and the other 1 flag with Gerswhin's lyrics and 2 flags with photos of ocean and sky.

Location: Bird-Spec Coll
Call Number: N7433.4 .H36 2002t


Beauty in Use, by Sandra McPherson. Poems inspired by S. McPherson's collection of African-American quilts, illustrated by Claire Van Vliet with pages of interlocking papers to form two-sided quilt squares. Edition of 150 copies; signed by S. McPherson, C. Van Vliet, A. Holden and L. Larus. "The non-adhesive structure & design by Claire Van Vliet executed with Audrey Holden & Lulie Larus; boxes made by Judi Conant and Mary Richardson in Guildhall, Vermont; papers are Japanese Chiyogami, Fabriano MacGregor-Vinzani, Strathmore, Janus, Barcham Green and Twinrocker"--Colophon.

Location: Bird-Spec Coll
Call Number: N7433.4 .V3 1976b

Stab-sewn | Asian binding


House of Ghosts, by Marshall Weber. The poem is printed over an architect's house plan on translucent paper.

Location: Bird-Spec Coll
Call Number: N7433.4 .W42 2000h

Codex


MS 4. Facsimile binding of Byzantine binding structure.

Location: Bird-Spec Coll
Call Number: Uncataloged - Housed with manuscripts.


A Kalender, or Table, Comprehending the Effect of all the Statutes that... A cut-away model that reveals the structure of the 17th century binding.

Location: Bird-Spec Coll
Call Number: KD571 1606

Subject Guide

Peter D. Verheyen's picture
Peter D. Verheyen
Contact:
Peter D. Verheyen
Research and Emerging Issues Analyst
Syracuse University Library
Syracuse, NY 13244
315.443.9756
Website / Blog Page