Skip to main content
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Libraries

Maps & Cartographic resources: Home

Come to the Map Room and travel the world. The collection has cartographic and reference materials in a variety of formats that cover the entire Earth.

The Map Collection

map room

The Collections

The Library's Map Room is the location for cartographic materials in a variety of formats. With a collection of over 195,000 sheet maps, 5000 atlases, 80,000 aerial photos, and 50,000 maps in microform, the map collection also has an expanding collection of maps in a digital format. The collection also has a collection of Sanborn fire insurance atlases, along with a teaching collection of globes and wall maps. The collection also has an extensive reference collection of gazetteers, place-name guides, geographical dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, directories, and guide-books.

The Map Room has four large worktables for patrons to use. Paper or digital copies of maps from microforms can be made from self-serve microform reader scanner/printers on the 3rd floor of Bird Library. Larger maps can be scanned in the GSIC lab across from the 3rd floor service desk.

To Access the Maps

The maps, atlases and other cartographic materials are cataloged in the library's online catalog or can be found in SUMMON. A member of the staff will be glad to assist you with any questions you may have regarding the collections or finding the materials you need.


Most maps can be circulated or checked out at the Maps/Documents Service Desk on the 3rd floor. A valid SU or SUNY-ESF ID is required. Atlases, Reference titles, and aerial photographs do not circulate. Please see the floor plan below for a diagram of where various collections are located and a complete list of items that circulate.

Map Room Hours

FALL 2015 (Aug 24 - Dec 17)

The map room is open the same hours as the third floor service desk.

NEW in the Map Room

  • The copper engraving plates for the Tully and Rochester 15' topographic maps are now available to view and use in the map room. these sets of copper plates were donated to the SU Libraries Map Collection from the USGS in Oct 2014.
  • The New "EARTH" atlas has arrived in the Map Room. It's a HUGE atlas and weighs over 40 lbs. Come in and take a look at this fantastic colorful atlas.



Esri announces ArcGIS 10.3.1 now available.

ArcGIS Online and ArcGIS Pro are now part of the SU site license.

Contact the Maps/GIS Librarian for more information.

Other LibGuides of interest


John Olson
358 Bird Library
Syracuse University
222 Waverly Ave
Syracuse, NY 13244
Social Media:Twitter Page