Skip to main content

EBooks: Accessibility of selected eBook Collections

A Note about our E-Book Collections

As a Syracuse University student or faculty member you have access to thousands of electronic books, but finding out which books you have access to can be a little tricky.  While many of our ebook collections are fully cataloged and searchable in either Summon or the Classic Catalog, others require that you search the publisher's website directly.

Browse or Search these EBook Collections

Accessibility for people with disabilities
"HEB titles feature underlying OCR (optical character recognition)-derived text. When viewing a title using the “text” page view option, the page can be read by automated screen readers. However, some components of HEB's interface are not yet fully optimized for screen readers. HEB, along with its technical partner, the University of Michigan Library's MPublishing division, is currently reviewing the collection for Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliance and making improvements to the site based on this" review. [http://www.humanitiesebook.org/faq.html] The viewing option for "page text offers up the complete OCR scanned text. While this lacks the formatting of the original published book (page-image) and may contain OCR-produced text errors (fewer than .01 percent)." [http://www.humanitiesebook.org/help.html#Anchor-Viewing-44868] A sample of pages did not have heading tags, which is a common accessibility guideline.  Adaptive technology users can use headings to navigate a page. Pages appear comparatively uncluttered, with few sidebars and navigation bars.


Accessibility for people with disabilities
Information about compliance with accessibility guidelines could not be located on the vendor's website.  The books are in html, which would be readable by screen readers.  A sample of pages did have heading tags, which is a common accessibility guideline.  Adaptive technology users can use headings to navigate a page.  Pages appear comparatively uncluttered, with few to no sidebars and navigation bars.

Accessibility for people with disabilities
Business Expert Press uses Ebrary's interface. Ebrary can provide user with a special screen-readable text mode.  Please contact SU Library's Web Navigation Assistance to have this set up. [http://support.ebrary.com/kb/category/en/accessibility/] According to Ebrary, "All ebrary products and services are now substantially compliant with the world’s major accessibility standards, including Section 508(C) in the U.S. and the W3C WCAG 2.0 Level AA international standard." Pages appear comparatively uncluttered, with few sidebars and navigation bars.

Accessibility for people with disabilities
According to Credo, they are "committed to compliance with disability aids, such as screen readers, and [have] tested the platform with the JAWS screen reader.” Credo's accessibility website includes keyboard operation instructions, narrative sitemap, information for visually impaired users, and link to VPAT available.
Pages appear comparatively uncluttered, with few sidebars and navigation bars.

Accessibility for people with disabilities
Information about compliance with accessibility guidelines could not be located on the vendor's website. Books open in inaccessible (not ocr'ed nor tagged) pdfs.  Pages with the books appear comparatively clutttered, with many sidebars and navigation bars.  Search and other pages appear comparatively uncluttered, with few sidebars and navigation bars.

Accessibility for people with disabilities
"This site includes scanned page images in gif format, which cannot be read by a screen reader."  Significant content is available in html, which can be read by a screen reader.  The following website includes description of navigation features, access keys, and more accessibility information. Pages appear comparatively cluttered, with many navigation bars.

(Individual titles can also be found in the SU Library catalog)
The Syracuse University Library subscription includes hundreds of titles in Engineering, Statistics, and Technology and is growing in other areas.

Accessibility for people with disabilities
EBSCO information about accessibility  Adobe Acrobat should be configured as explained for screen reader accessibility. "For low-vision and blind users using JAWS screen reader software, accessing eBooks and Audiobooks on EBSCOhost requires JAWS version 12 in combination with Firefox web browser, to support ARIA (Accessible Rich Internet Applications) standards."  Pages appear relatively cluttered, with many sidebars or navigation bars.

Accessibility for people with disabilities
Information about compliance with accessibility guidelines could not be located on the vendor's website. Books open in pdfs that are ocr'ed but not tagged. A screen reader could read it but could have difficulty navigating.  A sample of pages did have heading tags, which is a common accessibility guideline. Adaptive technology users can use headings to navigate a page.   Pages appear comparatively cluttered, with many sidebars and navigation bars.

Over 180,000 books, pamphlets, essays, and broadsides published in the UK during the 18th Century.

Accessibility for people with disabilities
According to ECCO, "As an image-based (as compared to text-based) database, ECCO is not fully ADA-compliant. However, the page images may be downloaded as PDF images and then the ADA capabilities of Adobe Acrobat may be employed."   In other words, the user or Office of Disability Services would need to convert the pdf to an accessible, ocr'ed document.

Accessibility for people with disabilities
Information about compliance with accessibility guidelines could not be located on the vendor's website.  KA Arabic e-Library is from Eastview.  As of 10/17/08 Eastview said they were not compliant with Section 508.  Books open in a format that cannot be read by screen readers. 

Accessibility for people with disabilities
Information about compliance with accessibility guidelines could not be located on the vendor's website.  Books open in pdf that is ocr'ed but not tagged.  A screen reader could read it but could have difficulty navigating.  The pages appear comparatively cluttered, with many sidebars and navigation bars.

Accessibility for people with disabilities
Information about compliance with accessibility guidelines could not be located on the vendor's website.  An "overview" of the books and documents opens in html, which would be readable with a screen reader.  The books and documents open in a formate not readable by a screen reader.  A sample of pages did have heading tags, which is a common accessibility guideline.  Adaptive technology users can use headings to navigate a page.  The pages appear comparatively cluttered, with many sidebars and navigation bars.

Accessibility for people with disabilities
"Oxford Reference Online has been designed for general compliance with section 508 (1998 amendments) of the US Rehabilitation Act 1973. Oxford Reference Online has also been tested to a limited degree using the screen reader JAWS, and works acceptably well with this software. Long terms plans include further testing of Oxford Reference Online using JAWS and other screen reading software, and to continue to work on improving compliance with accessibility legislation. Please contact us (Oxford Reference) if you believe any barriers remain."  Books are in html, which would be readable by screen readers.  A sample of pages did not have heading tags, which is a common accessibility guideline that adaptive technology users can use to navigate a page.  The pages appear comparatively uncluttered, with few sidebars and navigation bars.

Accessibility for people with disabilities
Information about compliance with accessibility guidelines could not be located on the vendor's website.  On 4/10/12, the vendor emailed "SAGE Research Methods [is] 508 compliant under subpart B and subpart C."  The books are in html, which would be readable by screen readers.  A sample of pages did have heading tags, which is a common accessibility guideline.  Adaptive technology users can use headings to navigate a page.  The pages appear comparatively cluttered, with many sidebars and navigation bars.

Accessibility for people with disabilities
Information about compliance with accessibility guidelines could not be located on the vendor's website.  Books open in pdfs that are ocr'ed but not tagged.  A screen reader could read it but could have difficulty navigating. A sample of pages did have heading tags, which is a common accessibility guideline.  Adaptive technology users can use headings to navigate a page.  The pages appear comparatively cluttered, with many sidebars and navigation bars.

Syracuse University Press Online

Contact a Librarian

For assistance or to request an appointment, please email me.

Mary DeCarlo

email Mary mmdecarl@syr.edu

How to Cite Ebooks