The links below lead to data that can be analyzed online. Some are provided by Numeric Data Services, some by other Universities. Please be sure to read all the documentation available for each study.
These files are available to the public:
- Syracuse Neighborhoods - 2000 Census of Population and Housing for the City (Place) of Syracuse, NY. with Syracuse neighborhood identifiers.
- Syracuse PUMS 1880 - 2000 - Public Use Microdata Samples for the city/metro area of Syracuse, NY. Made available here by permission of the IPUMS project.
- Syracuse 2005 American Community Survey - PUMS data from the ACS for the city/metro area of Syracuse, NY. Made available here by permission of the IPUMS project.
- Home Mortgage Disclosure Act - Home mortgage application data for New York State, 2000-2007. Includes indicators to identify the City of Syracuse as well as Subprime and Manufactured Housing Lenders. We also provide means for extracting data for the rest of the country.
- Government Sponsored Enterprises - All mortgages purchased by Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac in New York State from 1993 to 2006. Includes an identifier for the City of Syracuse, NY. We also provide means for extracting data for the rest of the country.
- American Housing Survey - The complete national data sets for the years:
- Common Core of Data/Violent and Disruptive Incident Reports - Public Elementary/Secondary School Universe Survey Data for the state of New York, 1986-2006 . Includes a variable identifying the Syracuse neighborhood in which the school is located. Also, data from the Violent and Disruptive Incident Reports (VADIR) from the State of New York Education Department for 2001-2006 have been added.
- Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages 1990-2006 - Employment and wage data for workers covered by state unemployment insurance or Unemployment Compensation for Federal Employees. These data are for all MSAs in the United States, aggregated at all levels of NAICS (industry) codes, with monthly, quarterly and annual tabulations.
- Local Area Unemployment Statistics - New York, 1990-2007 - The Local Area Unemployment Statistics (LAUS) program produces monthly and annual employment, unemployment, and labor force data for Census regions and divisions, States, counties, metropolitan areas, and many cities, by place of residence. The data here are for entities in the state of New York. For other states and regions, please go to the LAUS home page.
These files are available to Syracuse University students, faculty and staff ONLY:
- The Mannheim Eurobarometer Trend File, a collaborative effort between the Mannheimer Zentrum fur Europaische Sozialforschung (MZES) and the Zentrum fur Umfragen, Methoden und Analysen (ZUMA), combined the most important trend questions of the Eurobarometer surveys conducted between 1970 and 2002. The file consisted of 105 trend questions asked at least five times in standard Eurobarometer surveys.
- The Afrobarometer Project assesses attitudes toward democracy, markets, and society in several sub-Saharan African countries. This dataset was compiled from the studies in Round 1 of the Afrobarometer, conducted from 1999-2001 in 12 African countries. Certain questions addressed country-specific issues, but many questions were asked in every survey. Respondents were queried on the politics, educational standards, and economics of their respective countries.
- The Latinobarometer Project Latinobarómetro is an annual public opinion annual survey carried out in 18 Latin American countries by Latinobarómetro Corporation. It represents the opinions, attitudes and behaviour of around 400 million of the region’s inhabitants. The survey first took place in 1995 when it covered eight countries, before increasing to 17 in 1996 and 18 as from 2004. It is a private, non-profit initiative designed for use by the region’s social and political actors.
- The AsiaBarometer is a cross-national effort to study the lives of the peoples of East and Southeast Asia on physical, psychological, and sociological dimensions. The project was designed to capture the extent to which respondents experience the affective and cognitive qualities of life, focusing on their assessments of their own lives as well as their relationships to family, neighborhood, workplace, social institutions, political institutions, and the marketplace.
- World Telecommunication Indicators 14th Edition, 2010 - The World Telecommunication/ICT Indicators database contains time series data for the years 1960, 1965, 1970 and annually from 1975-2009 for around 80 sets of telecommunication/ICT statistics covering telephone network size and dimension, mobile services, quality of service, traffic, staff, tariffs, revenue and investment.
Other Data Archives
- ICPSR - ICPSR has many datasets from a variety of subjects available for online analysis. Registration is required, but free for Syracuse University affiliates.
- SDA Archive - The General Social Survey and the American National Election Study, among others. See also their list of other archives using SDA software.
- IPUMS - PUMS data from the US Census, the Current Population Survey, and other international sources.