Notes and Bibliography Style
| Books and eBooks | Articles | Other Resources |
Author-Date Style
| Books and eBooks | Articles | Other Resources |
What's the difference?
The Notes and Bibliography Style of Chicago Manual of Style utilizes numbered footnotes or endnotes when citing sources in-text.
The Author-Date Style briefly cites sources in-text, usually in parentheses, by author's last name and year of publication.
The end bibliographies for both styles are similar, but the Author-Date has the date listed further up in the reference.
"The Chicago Manual of Style presents two basic documentation systems, the humanities style (notes and bibliography) and the author-date system. Choosing between the two often depends on subject matter and nature of sources cited, as each system is favored by different groups of scholars.
The humanities style is preferred by many in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in notes and, often, a bibliography. It accommodates a variety of sources, including esoteric ones less appropriate to the author-date system.
The more concise author-date system had long been used by those in the physical, natural, and social sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author's last name and date of publication. The short citations are amplified in a list of references, where full bibliographic information is provided."
Purdue OWL is a great website for getting help on Chicago Style 17th edition citations. You can access their "Chicago Formatting and Style Guide" to find help with citations for all types of resources.
The Chicago Manual of StyleThis series of videos and tutorials will help you learn about the importance of citing sources and how to cite a variety of sources using Chicago style.
https://researchguides.library.syr.edu/c.php?g=1115506&p=9441791#s-lg-box-29867411
The following sample paper will help you with the Notes and Bibliography style of the Chicago Manual Style! Click the PDF link below.
The following sample paper will help you with the Author-Date style of the Chicago Manual Style! Click the PDF link below.
*Please check with your instructor to be sure if you are required to use Chicago Style or Turabian Style.*
The style presented in Kate Turabian's "Manual for Writers of Research Papers" is essentially the same as that presented by the Chicago Manual of Style. However, it has been modified slightly for use by student writers and researchers. Please see the Turabian Citation Quick Guide Page on the Chicago Manual of Style website for more information, including citation examples.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by