Skip to main content

Arts Journalism Resources @ SU Libraries

An SU Libraries research starting points guide for arts journalism

Databases A-Z

Here's a link to the full A to Z list of databases available through the Syracuse University Libraries.  Includes databases containing articles, images, data and videos.  Search for a database by title, subject area, or content type.

Arts Journalism Databases

An extensive and interdisciplinary list of databases you may wish to search to locate academic articles, news articles, music, images, video and more.  Despite the length, this remains a partial list.  When in doubt, contact a librarian or visit the full SU Libraries Website:

  Find a Periodical Title

 

Contagious Magazine - Cover Image

To identify whether SU Libraries has a specific magazine (i.e., journal) title in its print or online collection, you can:

  • (For titles available online) Enter the magazine title into the Library's journal locator (a list of print and electronic journals, magazines and newspapers available through the Syracuse University Libraries.  Search or browse by title, ISSN, or subject category)  OR
     
  • Enter the magazine title into the Library's Classic Catalog (using a 'journal title' search.  A list of print and electronic materials available in the Syracuse University Libraries.  Includes books, journals, maps, sound recordings, archival materials, government documents and more.) OR 
     
  • (For browsing titles in print format) Browse titles alphabetically in the current periodicals area of Bird Library, 2nd Floor

     

Arts Commissions

Local Historical Associations & Societies

Sometimes the keepers of information about arts organizations in that area.

Circulation Data

Fundraising/Grant Research

Some databases as well as free sites to consider if researching grant opportunities:

Grants.gov [U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services] A centralized, online destination for finding and applying for over 900 grant programs from 26 U.S. federal grant-making agencies, including a link to new grant 'opportunities this week.'

Grantsmanship Center [Grantsmanship Center]  A membership organization that offers workshops and a grantsmanship training program, as well as many resources available to grantseekers at no cost, including an index of funding sources (private foundations, community foundations, corporate giving, etc.) at local, federal and international levels.

Nonprofit Sector Journals

*Many of these have not been collected in print format for recent years.  Instead, online availability provides access in most instances.  If interested in library back-issue holdings of print specifically, for any titles in that category, search that title(s) of interest using a "journal title" search in the library's  "classic catalog."  Otherwise, use links below to access current and back issues of these periodicals:

Board Leadership - available online

Bruce R Hopkins' Nonprofit Counsel - available online

Chronicle of Philanthropy - available online

Journal of Collective Negotiations - available online *formerly entitled, Journal of Collective Negotiations in the Public Sector

Journal of Nonprofit & Public Sector Marketing - available online

Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly - available online

Nonprofit Management & Leadership - available online

Nonprofit Quarterly - print issues only, with current editions shelved at 2nd floor periodicals area, Bird Library

Nonprofit Review - available online

Nonprofit Times - available online.  Current print editions also shelved at 2nd floor periodicals area, Bird Library

Voluntas - available online

Additional Form 990 Information

In addition to access to recent and more deeply historical Form 990 financial statements for U.S. non-profit organizations via the Library's licensed access to Guidestar Pro  and for Foundations via Foundation Directory Online (SU Libraries supports the "professional" version of FD Online), these organizations below are yet further examples of portals for obtaining financial and executive backgound information about nonprofits.  Guidestar Pro and Foundation Directory Online - Professional should meet needs of most researchers.  Access to detailed data and search features from these similar competitor services generally requires a paid fee:

  Watch for the SULinks icon

If you see this next to the record for an article in an SU Libraries database, click on it to see if the full-text is available online.

SCOLA

SCOLA [SCOLA]
A nonprofit educational consortium based in McClelland, Iowa, that receives and re-transmits television news and entertainment programming from more than fifty different countries in the original languages.