Skip to main content
Syracuse University Libraries

Architecture: King + King Architecture Library

This guide presents resources on various aspects of architecture including history, theory, design and technology.

King gift leads to renovation and renaming

The gift is in celebration of the 150th anniversary of King + King Architects. Founded in 1868 by Archimedes Russell, King + King Architects is the oldest architectural firm in continuous practice in New York State and two years older than Syracuse University.

"We are delighted to have this support for the renovation and renaming of the Architecture Reading Room in Slocum Hall," says Seaman.

Hours

King+King Architecture Library

Regular Academic Year Hours:

Mon - Thurs: 9 a.m.- 11 p.m.

Fri:  9 a.m.- 6 p.m.

Sat: 10 a.m.- 6p.m.

Sun: 10 a.m.- 11 p.m.

Contact Information

Location: Third floor of Slocum Hall. The Architecture Reading Room occupies three rooms at the front of the building: Services area (circulation, reserves, reference) Main Collections Room and the Working Drawings Room.

Telephone: 315-443-3518

Email Us:

arrstaff@syr.edu -- general queries

baopar@syr.edu -- reference and collection specific matters

Circulation Policies

The Architecture Reading Room is open to all Syracuse University and ESF students, faculty, staff and other registered borrowers. Visitors are welcome to consult materials in-house.

Reserve Stacks: 2 hour loan, 1 renewal

General stacks: 1 week, 1 renewal

Current Periodicals: 2 hour loan, 1 renewal

Working Drawings: Do not circulate. Requests for paper and/or digital copies should be directed to ARR staff. Please allow at least 48 hours for fulfillment of these requests. Payment is required before pick-up of all copies. Paper copies costs average about $1.50 per sheet. Digital copy costs will be higher.

 Materials:  1 day, 1 renewal

Technology

The Architecture Reading Room is equipped with the following:

  • 1 Quick Look-up Station to access the SU Library catalog
  • 3  networked computer workstations accessed by logging in with the SU issued Net ID. These workstations are Internet ready, have print capabilities and are loaded with the newest license for Microsoft Office and the Adobe Creative Suite.
  • 3 non-networked large format color scanners for use with a USB device.
  • A black and white photocopier (10 cents per page) and a color copier (85 cents per page). Both photocopiers also use the Plus Account.

Services

  • Reference assistance. The architecture librarian, Barbara Opar, provides reference support to the ARR.
  • Course reserves. (Print Materials or Digital Access)
  • Access to the Internet, Microsoft Office and Adobe Creative Suite.
  • Photocopiers and scanners.

Overview

Slocum Hall at night

The Architecture Reading Room, located on the third floor of Slocum Hall, serves the needs of the School of Architecture, the faculty, and its students for quick access to course reserves, current periodical titles, reference and other core works. The Architecture Reading Room is open the public and the SU and ESF community.

 

Reserve Collection: Permanent reserve (core materials);course specific reserve books have a two hour circulation period. Reserve collection photo

 

Stacks: The general stack collection of over 5,000 volumes includes basic surveys, monographs on key figures in architecture, building type studies and technology resources. The loan period is a week.

General stack collection photo

 

Current Periodical Titles: Titles are kept in the ARR for six months to a year. Each issue is barcoded and circulates for two hours. Please refer to the Architectural Periodicals tab for a list of titles held.

Current periodicals photo

 

Working Drawings: The Architecture Reading Room houses a largely print-based collection of over 300 sets of architectural working drawings. These do not circulate. For details, please refer to the Architectural Working Drawings tab.

Materials: The Reading Room holds a collection of physical material samples, including a variety of wood, stone, tile, plastics and acrylics, fabric, metals, and more.  These are stored on shelves in the Working Drawings Room and have a 1 day loan period.  Please refer to the Materials tab for more information.

Oversize: Oversize books are located in the white cabinets in the Main Collections Room. The loan period is 2 hours.   

Theses: B+ and award-winning student theses are available online for viewing via SURFACE