Skip to main content

Archaeology & Biological Anthropology: Other links

Professional Associations - Archaeology

An alphabetical listing of archaeological associations, organizations, and societies in Archaeology.

Cool Sites

African Diaspora Archaeology Network (ADAN)
ADAN is a website that provides a focal point for archaeologists studying the African Diaspora.

Archaeology and Material Culture
A blog by Paul Mullins, Department Chair, Anthropology, Indiana-Purdue University, and an historical archaeologist studying consumer culture.

BeadSite.com
The BeadSite was started and maintained by Peter Francis, Director of the Center for Bead Research who died in 2002.  Since his death, it is being maintained by the American Museum of Natural History in New York, New York.

Conference Alerts: Academic Conferences WorldWide
Conference Alerts brings together two groups of people - conference organizers, and academics who need to stay informed about conferences.

Digital Archives of Comparative Slavery
The Digital Archaeological Archive of Comparative Slavery is a Web-based initiative designed to foster inter-site, comparative archeological research on slavery throughout the Chesapeake, the Carolinas and the Caribbean.

Digital Index of North American Archaeology (DINAA)
DINAA is a multi-institutional undertaking to create interoperability models for archaeological site databases in the eastern United States.

Historic Glass Bottle Indentification and Information Website
This website has been prepared to assist archaeologists with the dating, identification and classification of historic bottles and bottle fragments located during cultural surveys and excavations. Produced by interested individuals within the Bureau of Land Management in conjunction with some memebers of the Society for Historical Archaeology.

Mount Vernon's Midden Project
This website was created to present artifacts excavated by archaeologists from the eighteenth-century South Grove Midden (or refuse feature) located at Mount Vernon, George Washington’s Virginia plantation on the Potomac River. The website includes a searchble database of objects (website).

Museum of Underwater Archaeology
The MUA helps underwater archaeologists present their research to the general public by creating web based museum style exhibits as well as announce their latest projects.

Northeastern Stone Structures
A resource for information about historic stone structures, Native American ritual stone structure, and stone quarrying methods in Northeastern United States.

Paleobot.org
A collaborative, open-access web resource for scientists and scholars engaged in paleobotanical research.

Society for Historical Archaeology (SHA) Guide to Higher Education
Offers list of graduate programs in historical archaeology.

Virtual Zooarchaeology of the Arctic Project (VZAP)
The Virtual Zooarchaeology of the Arctic Project (VZAP) is a virtual, interactive, osteological reference collection for the study of northern vertebrates.

Voyages: the Transatlantic Slave Trade
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database comprises nearly 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Records of the voyages have been found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. They provide information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes.

Written in Bone: Forensic Files of the 17th Century Chesapeake
Smithsonian Museum of Natural History.  Includes a nice site on "Bone Basics".

Professional Associations - Biological Anthropology

An alphabetical listing of archaeological associations, organizations, and societies in Biological Anthropology.