Skip to main content

Anthropology: Videos/DVDs

Some Anthropology Videos in SU Libraries Catalog

Video and Music Collections

Check out SU Libraries' webpage on its Video and Music Collections

Video Collections
The Syracuse University Libraries have approximately 6,000 DVDs and 8,000 videocassettes that cover all subject areas. This collection is accessed by request at the 3rd Floor Check-In/Out and Help desk, by emailing multimed@syr.edu, or calling 315-443-4176. All items in the video/film collection can be found in the Classic Catalog .
 

Music Collection
In addition to music books and scores, the SU Libraries maintain a collection of records, compact discs, and music cassette tapes. The collection contains music ranging from classical (Western and non-Western), jazz, folk, world, and popular music genres to musical theater. All items in the music collection can be found in the Classic Catalog. 

Streaming Databases

Streaming videos focusing on the study of human culture, behavior, and society. Produced by Alexander Street Press.

 


FILMAKERS LIBRARY ONLINE

Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum�race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.

 

Kanopy Logo

Kanopy
One of the largest academic streaming video collections in the market, containing tens of thousands of educational titles, and also U.S. and international feature films. Kanopy partners with over 800 producers, including the Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Kino Lorber, First Run Features, PBS, BBC, California Newsreel, Media Education Foundation and more. New titles are added continuously. Subjects cover all academic disciplines and include technical training videos. Video links may be embedded into instructional courseware systems like Blackboard. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning. The platform video player is WCAG-compliant.

 

Searching for Videos/DVD's in the SU Libraries' Summon

1. In the Summon search box, type in the topic or the title of the video ( in quotes) that you are looking for, then click on the Search button.

Ex. type the word ghana  - for videos/DVD's on ghana, or "smoke signals" for the video Smoke Signals.

2. Refine your search by Content Type found on the left side of the screen. Click on "more" then scroll down to Video Recordings.  Click on the "include" box and then the "continue" box.

Some Ethnographic Videos in SU Libraries Catalog