Skip to main content

African Studies: E-Resources

African studies is multidisciplinary in scope, and this site covers print and electronic sources on Africa that will be relevant to Syracuse University scholars.

Institutional Repositories

Eldis - Africa South of the Sahara
The aim of Eldis is to:support the documentation, exchange and use of evidence-based development knowledge; and to communicate this knowledge effectively through a range of appropriately designed services, using the Internet (web and email) as the main communication medium for delivery(website).

OpenDOAR
Directory of Open Access Repositories. OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.

Open Knowledge Repository - World Bank
The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. (website)

Socarxiv - preprints
A free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code. (website - About)

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.

SURFACE
"...a full-text, multi-media online database that provides open access to the extensive and diverse array of scholarly, professional, scientific, and creative output produced at Syracuse University..."(website)

 

Reference Universe

Not everything is online. Reference Universe shows you which of over 20,000 reference books on our shelves mention your topic.

Enter your search terms:

E-book collections

Each of these collections allows for full-text searching of all titles simultaneously:

  • HSRC Press - Human Science Research Council
    The HSRC Press is a non-profit publisher committed to the dissemination of high quality social science publications, in print and electronic form. The HSRC Press is a hybrid press, with a mandate to disseminate HSRC research output and other valuable social science research.
  • ACLS Humanities E-Book
    Full-text of books in all areas of history.

  • Annual Reviews
    This collection includes over 30 titles in both the physical and social sciences, many of which may be useful for research in GEO 319.
  • HathiTrust
    HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.
  • Oxford Reference Online
    An interdisciplinary collections of over 280 dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks from Oxford University Press. A more authoritative alternative to Wikipedia.

Search for books


Search the Summon catalog for e-books: