Skip to main content

African American Studies: Other links

African American studies covers a multitude of disciplines including the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.

Museums

  • Museum of Afro-American History Boston

    The Museum of Afro American History (MAAH) is a not-for-profit history institution dedicated to preserving, conserving and accurately interpreting the contributions of African Americans during the colonial period in New England.
  • Louis Armstrong Online

    Queens College preserves the legacy of Louis Armstrong in two ways: (1) operation of the Louis Armstrong Archives, in which the bulk of Louis's vast personal collection of material has been preserved and cataloged, and is being made available to the public, and (2) the project to convert the Louis Armstrong House, a national historic landmark and a New York City landmark, into a museum and educational center.

Universities, Research Institutions

This is a list of links to museums, institutions of higher education, and other research and foundations concerning African American Studies.

      • Amistad Research Center

        The nation's largest independent archives specializing in the history of African Americans and other ethnic groups, the Amistad Research Center is dedicated to preserving America's ethnic heritage
      • Howard University Library

        Offers access to some interesting links to African research websites. See "Search HUL Website, A-Z:". Click on "A-B", then click on "Africa-Libraries/Archives", then, "Africa".
      • Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project at Stanford University

        The King Papers Project is a major research effort to assemble and disseminate historical information concerning Martin Luther King, Jr. and the social movements in which he participated. Initiated by the Atlanta-based King Center for Nonviolent Social Change, the King Papers Project is one of only a few large-scale research ventures focusing on an African American.
      • Ralph J. Bunche Center for African American Studies

        The UCLA Ralph J. Bunche Center for African American Studies Library and Media Center was established in 1969 to provide specialized reference and information services on the experiences of people of African descent.
      • Schomburg Center for Research on Black Culture

        The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture is a national research library devoted to collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting the experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world.
      • Civil Rights in Mississippi - Digital Archives

        The Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital Archive is an Internet-accessible, fully searchable database of digitized versions of rare and unique library and archival resources on race relations in Mississippi.