Skip to main content

African American Studies: Videos/DVD's

African American studies covers a multitude of disciplines including the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.

Video and Music Collections

Check out SU Libraries' webpage on its Video and Music Collections

Video Collections
The Syracuse University Libraries have approximately 6,000 DVDs and 8,000 videocassettes that cover all subject areas. This collection is accessed by request at the 3rd Floor Check-In/Out and Help desk, by emailing multimed@syr.edu, or calling 315-443-4176. All items in the video/film collection can be found in the Classic Catalog .
 

Music Collection
In addition to music books and scores, the SU Libraries maintain a collection of records, compact discs, and music cassette tapes. The collection contains music ranging from classical (Western and non-Western), jazz, folk, world, and popular music genres to musical theater. All items in the music collection can be found in the Classic Catalog. 

Videos/DVD's - African American Studies

This is a very brief list of the some videos/DVD's about  African American life and culture owned and located in either SU Bird Library, the African American Studies Martin Luther King Library, or other libraries on the SU campus.  To find out how to access many more videos, DVD's, or other media on African America, please see SU Libraries' website on its Video and Music Collections

Videos at E.S. Bird Library

 DVD's and videos at SU Library are shelved on the 4th floor of Bird Library.   Neo African Americans is one example of the Libraries' DVD collections. To find out how to access, charge out and use DVD's, check out the Libraries' page on the Video and Music collections.

Searching for Videos/DVD's in the SU Libraries' Summon

1. In the Summon search box, type in the topic or the title of the video ( in quotes) that you are looking for, then click on the Search button.

Ex. type the word ghana  - for videos/DVD's on ghana, or "smoke signals" for the video Smoke Signals.

2. Refine your search by Content Type found on the left side of the screen. Click on "more" then scroll down to Video Recordings.  Click on the "include" box and then the "continue" box.

Video Access and Usage Policies

The Libraries have developed videocassette, DVD, and film collections primarily in support of classroom teaching at Syracuse University. For that reason, and because copyright and /or licensing agreements impose restrictions and limitations on their use, full borrowing privileges are only extended to faculty, teaching assistants and students for in-class use. All SU-affiliated users are welcome to view these materials in the Libraries.