Those researching advertising topics may benefit from review of one or more these various business oriented resources and publications. The focus here is on learning more about specific industries and markets:
Edison Research
This organization offers a large volume of freely available reports and data about American digital media consumers, and is notable for its analysis of the podcasting industry. This includes access to Edison’s reports called Infinite Dial, studies with commercial sponsors such as Amazon Music, Wondery, and ART19. Infinite Dial reports track mobile behaviors, internet audio, podcasting, social media, smart speakers and more. See also, Edison’s full subpage covering Audio Research PLEASE NOTE: Some of Edison’s data and reports, including election polling data - at times may not be open access, or otherwise require a direct client relationship with Edison Research. Edison Research data on numerous topics also is viewable at times within additional third party databases, such as the statistical data aggregators, Statista and Insider Intelligence eMarketer, political polling data available via the database, Roper iPoll (where search results can be filtered to only yield data sourced from Edison Research), or at times, within any number of secondary reporting appearing in news and newspaper sources
Want to explore still further starting points for industry and market research, visit the library's Business Information Guide
eMarketer is a repository of data and discussion about digital marketing, media and ecommerce. Covers information environments and technologies that some traditional industry and market research databases overlook, with a focus that includes mobile computing, online advertising, tablets, smartphones, mobile payments and more. The eMarketer database curates a large collection of presentation friendly data visualizations, which draw upon thousands of published industry sources and leadership interviews. Concise, single topic summary reports are included to assist with the development of media strategies, budgeting and other data driven presentations and analysis. Digital market data for numerous countries are represented, with over 10,000 new data charts added each year. Download options include Excel, PowerPoint, JPG and PDF.
In addition to powerful market research databases like Mintel and MarketResearch.com Academic, SU Libraries also makes available various electronic book titles from publisher Richard K. Miller & Associates. These offer extensive market research reports on subjects that include: