Advertising Resources

Most of these SU Libraries databases contain content that is primarily audiovisual.  "World Advertising Research Center" is also an excellent source for written advertising case studies:

• Adforum Explore the world of U.S. and international advertising via the Adforum database. An online audiovisual library of more than 120,000 advertisements (1999-present), including Television ads, Digital/Web ads, Social Media ads, Print (Magazine & Newspaper) ads, Radio ads, and various other forms of “Out of Home” advertising like billboards, posters and vehicle mounted images. Content originates from over 20,000 advertising agencies in dozens of countries.  Award winning advertising can also be retrieved by award name and year (e.g., Clio, Effie, One Show, etc). 
  
  
• Luerzer's Archive (online) Extensive access to back issues of images from this advertising industry design magazine.  Includes video and vivid examples from a wide variety of campaigns.  Via the link above, click the Library Classic Catalog's link labeled 'full text available from publisher site' to view that archive (current SU NETID required)
   
• Lurzer's International Archive (print edition, 1987 thru current) Recent issue(s) of this magazine are available under "L" in the current periodicals area, 2nd floor, Bird Library.  Older back issues are housed at the Library's off-site storage facility but can be requested using one's SU NETID- and the "request entire journal volume" link embedded on the item record for this series
   
• One Show & Art Director's Club Annuals [print editions] A substantial collection of post 1950 back issue volumes of these two award series are available for review, in-library use only, reference collection, 2nd floor, Bird Library.  With some gaps in coverage, print volumes for Art Director's Club (no longer produced) - are under call number NC 997 A1 A692, and also NC 997 A1 A69  and NC 997 A1 A691 (2nd fl. Reference Collection, Bird Lib.) and print volumes for One Show (post 1950 thru recent years) - are under call number NC 1001.5 O53 (2nd fl. Reference Collection, Bird Lib.).  Pre 1950 Art Director's Club volumes are housed at the Library's off-site storage facility.  Contact the advertising librarian [ mjpasqua@syr.edu ] if specific assistance is needed identifying these volumes
   
• Ads of the World  Media Bistro's collections of international advertising examples.  Sort results by media type, country or industry.
   
• Artstor This database of fine art images also includes some compelling historical examples of advertising design (including pre-digital works).  Try entering a search query for the term "advertisement" or a brand name or service category.  One can also browse or filter by geography and other classified fine art and design media categories.

• AP Newsroom Extensive collection of contemporary and historical photos, news stories, audio clips and print graphics produced by Associated Press journalists.
   
• PressReader {Proquest} - Vivid full color image versions of selected U.S. and international newspapers.  over 5,000 local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.  Maintains a 60 to 90 day rolling archive for most titles.  For some titles/articles, the audio "interactive radio" feature will read that article content aloud, in the original language.  

• WARC (World Advertising Research Center) contains over 25,000 articles, case studies, research reports and summaries, exclusively devoted to advertising, brand strategy, strategic planning for advertising, consumers and more. Use the top margin menu choices and subsequent left margin links to explore this invaluable database.

For older historical examples - use the SU Libraries Classic Catalog (including the Catalog’s "format" menu - and select "video") to identify DVD/VHS compilations of award winning commercials (e.g., Clio award winners; Cannes Lions winners; Gunn Report Show reels, The One Show, etc.) or video documentaries about the advertising industry.

OR..here's a list of some specific titles (request DVD/VHS viewing at 3rd floor service desk, Bird Library)

Cannes Lions:
2013: Video DVD 17906

2012: Video DVD 17212

2011: Video DVD 16493

2010:  Video DVD 15729

2009: Video DVD 15213

2008: Video DVD 14257

2007: Video DVD 13258

Gunn Report:
2004-2014: Video DVD 12270

2003: Videocassette 11923

The One Show:
2010:  Video DVD 16722

2009:  Video DVD 16721

2008: Video DVD 15052

2007: Video DVD 13431

Clio Awards:
2010:  Video DVD 16514

50th Anniversary Clio Awards (2009):  Video DVD 15726

49th Clio Awards (2008): Video DVD 14562

48th Clio Awards (2007): Video DVD 13373

47th Clio Awards (2006): Video DVD 12660

46th Clio Awards (2005): Video DVD 12487

45th Clio Awards (2004): Video DVD 12488

44th Clio Awards (2003): Video DVD 11045

43rd Clio Awards (2002): Videocassette 10343

42nd Clio Awards (2001): Videocassette 9834

Clio Awards, 40th Anniversary Reel (2000): Videocassette 8727

1999 Clio Awards: Videocassette 8707

D&AD Awards:
Current and past winners are viewable online https://www.dandad.org/en/awards/

Effie Awards:
Offers collections of advertising case study descriptions.  Full access, including video - requires a subscription https://www.effie.org
*ACCESS NOTE:  Effie Award winners are included in the SU Libraries subscription to the WARC database (World Advertising Research Center)

SU Libraries also maintains “One Show” award book volumes; some include CDs.  "One Show" (call number:  NC 1001.5 O53) and "Art Directors Club" (call numbers: NC 997 A1 A69 || NC 997 A1 A691 || NC 997 A1 A692) print volumes for those design competitions, 1950s and after, are shelved in the (non-circulating) general reference collection, 2nd floor of Bird Library.  For current shelving locations that include multiple catalog item records for pre 1950s Art Directors Club volumes, enter a "subject heading" search into the Library's Classic Catalog for the phrase "Art Director's Club (New York, N.Y.)-Exhibitions."  Pre-1950s volumes are more time consuming to retrieve, but can be requested individually from the library's high density, off-site storage facility using links embedded into each classic catalog item record, labeled - "Request Entire Journal Volume"

Students interested in advertising awards may wish to visit the websites listed below.  Sometimes access to  content may require individual subscription.  But see also SU Libraries subscription to the WARC database (World Advertising Research Center).   Additionally, in many cases SU Libraries has in its collection historical awards DVDs that represent some of these competitions.  Search the SU Libraries Classic Catalog for the name of the awards series you are interested in (e.g., "Clio") and/or, use the Catalog's advanced search page to limit your results to "Video" using the "format" pull down menu:

• Cannes Lion - https://www.canneslions.com/
• Clio Awards - https://www.clioawards.com/
• Effie Awards - https://www.effie.org/
• Gunn Report - https://www.gunnreport.com/
• One Show -    https://www.oneclub.org/
• D&AD Awards - https://www.dandad.org/en/awards/

SU Libraries also offers the DVD: Advertising Video Gallery 2009 (DVD 13756, 3rd Floor, Bird Library) - A compilation of short lectures on advertising strategies along with excerpts from memorable commercials.

AdViews:   AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s. All of the commercials held in the DMB&B Archives will be digitized, allowing students and researchers access to a wide range of vintage brand advertising from the first four decades of mainstream commercial television.

AdViews is a collaborative project between Duke's Digital Collections Program and the Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History, as well as a number of other groups, at Duke University.
 

See also - Ad*Access:  From Duke University's J. Walter Thompson archival collections, examples of over 7000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.

For more information about video visit SU Libraries - research guide for video

A cross-section of current periodical titles available for browsing on the 2nd floor, current periodicals section of Bird Library or at the current periodicals section of the Carnegie Library.

* = indicates a title of particular interest to the advertising and design professions.  Additional general interest magazines listed may be desired because of advertising they contain:

To identify whether SU Libraries has a specific magazine (i.e., journal) title in its print or online collection, you can:

• (For titles available online) Enter the magazine title into the Library's journal locator (a list of print and electronic journals, magazines and newspapers available through the Syracuse University Libraries.  Search or browse by title, ISSN, or subject category)  OR
   
• Enter the magazine title into the Library's Classic Catalog (using a 'journal title' search.  A list of print and electronic materials available in the Syracuse University Libraries.  Includes books, journals, maps, sound recordings, archival materials, government documents and more.) OR 
   
• (For browsing titles in print format) Browse titles alphabetically in the current periodicals area of Bird Library, 2nd Floor