Skip to main content

Advertising Resources

A Syracuse University Libraries' research starting points guide for advertising research

Welcome

SU Libraries offers numerous research tools and information sources to assist you when investigating the world of advertising.  Explore the linked  sections of this guide for leading examples of these tools.

Advertising Database BEST BETS

adforum logo

 

 

world advertising research center logo

Mintel Academic Logo

 

MRI plus logouniversity reporter logo

simmons logo

 

kantar media srds logo

 

adspender logo

 

ebsco logo

 

 

ad age datacenter logo

 

asrc logo

Kanopy - Video Collection

Kanopy Logo

New at SU since 2014 - eMarketer

eMarketer database menu

eMarketer is a repository of data and discussion about digital marketing, media and ecommerce. Covers information environments and technologies that some traditional industry and market research databases overlook, with a focus that includes mobile computing, online advertising, tablets, smartphones, mobile payments and more.  The eMarketer database curates a large collection of presentation friendly data visualizations, which draw upon thousands of published industry sources and leadership interviews.  Concise, single topic summary reports are included to assist with the development of media strategies, budgeting and other data driven presentations and analysis.  Digital market data for numerous countries are represented, with over 10,000 new data charts added each year.   Download options include Excel, PowerPoint, JPG and PDF.

TVB

T V B Local Media Marketing Solutions

Television Bureau of Advertising
Non profit trade association for the U.S. broadcasting industry.
See especially:

Notable Audience Research Titles at Bird Library

Also available at Bird Library, 2nd floor - reference collection (for in library use only):

 

intermedia dimensions book cover

Intermedia Dimensions (Media Dynamics, Inc.):  Reference book title useful for cross-comparisons of different media types (online, TV, radio, magazines, etc.) for relevant audience demographics, media ‘reach,’ CPM (“Cost per Mile”) data for advertising as well as qualitative comparisons of various media types and implications for media planning.

This slightly older Media Dynamics title also available at 2nd Floor reference collection, Bird Library (does not circulate, in-library use only):

media book book jacket

The Media Book (Media Dynamics, Inc.): In a single reference book, this 2014 edition offers quantitative and qualitative aspects of performance for all six major media—TV, radio and magazines, the Internet, newspapers and out-of-home (including digital). Provides media planners and buyers and media sellers with a conciser review of all aspects of media performance including a historical overview, audience reach, demographic appeals and CPMs.  Also  includes proprietary estimates on subjects such as ad exposure factors, ad awareness levels by GRP levels and ad wearout.  Includes some data Media Dynamics obtains via partnerships with other leading research companies like GfK MRI, Experian and Scarborough. 

4As Agency Search

As - Leadership Community Advocacy Guidance

4As ("American Association of Advertising Agencies") - Ad Agency Search Engine

Help With Citing?

Need help on formatting the sources you cite in your academic writing (e.g., APA, MLA, etc.) or want access to a full-fledged online bibliographic management systems-like "RefWorks" or "Endnote Web"  Visit SU Library's Citation Support website.

Job Leads

This PDF document lists media directories and other sources that may help any Newhouse student looking to explore leads for career planning purposes and related industry research into companies and job markets.  Be sure to also visit Newhouse's Tina Press and David Rubin Career Development Center.