This guide is intended for Fall 2017 ADV 401 students (Course sections taught by Prof. Kevin O'Neill and Prof. Mel White)
SU Libraries offers numerous research tools and information sources to assist you when investigating advertising. Explore the various sections of this guide, including tabbed sub-pages, for links to leading examples of these tools.
These resources specific to ADV 401 gathered by SU Public Communications Librarian, Michael Pasqualoni.
eMarketer is a repository of data and discussion about digital marketing, media and ecommerce. Covers information environments and technologies that some traditional industry and market research databases overlook, with a focus that includes mobile computing, online advertising, tablets, smartphones, mobile payments and more. The eMarketer database curates a large collection of presentation friendly data visualizations, which draw upon thousands of published industry sources and leadership interviews. Concise, single topic summary reports are included to assist with the development of media strategies, budgeting and other data driven presentations and analysis. Digital market data for numerous countries are represented, with over 10,000 new data charts added each year. Download options include Excel, PowerPoint, JPG and PDF.
Now available at Bird Library, 2nd floor - reference collection (for in library use only):
TV Dimensions (Media Dynamics, Inc.): A research annual – covering all aspects of TV audience and media research.
Intermedia Dimensions (Media Dynamics, Inc.): Reference book title useful for cross-comparisons of different media types (online, TV, radio, magazines, etc.) for relevant audience demographics, media ‘reach,’ CPM (“Cost per Mile”) data for advertising as well as qualitative comparisons of various media types and implications for media planning.
These slightly older Media Dynamics reference books also available at 2nd Floor reference collection, Bird Library:
The Media Book (Media Dynamics, Inc.): In a single reference book, this 2014 edition offers quantitative and qualitative aspects of performance for all six major media—TV, radio and magazines, the Internet, newspapers and out-of-home (including digital). Provides media planners and buyers and media sellers with a conciser review of all aspects of media performance including a historical overview, audience reach, demographic appeals and CPMs. Also includes proprietary estimates on subjects such as ad exposure factors, ad awareness levels by GRP levels and ad wearout. Includes some data Media Dynamics obtains via partnerships with other leading research companies like GfK MRI, Experian and Scarborough.
Magazine Dimensions (Media Dynamics, Inc.): Focuses on the effectiveness of magazines as an ad medium. Includes qualitative data on ad impact, CPM (“Cost per Mile”) estimates by magazine genre, magazine audience demographics and state of the magazine industry discussion.
Radio Dimensions (Media Dynamics, Inc.): Cost-per-rating-point-estimates by daypart and demos for 150 markets. Investigations regarding radio’s reach and frequency capabilities and qualitative distinctions in listener engagement. Intensified treatment of internet and satellite radio.