Skip to main content

ADV 208 - The Big Idea in Advertising (Fall 2017)

A library guide of research starting points for ADV 208

Welcome

This guide is intended for Fall 2017 ADV 208 students (Course sections taught by Prof Brian Sheehan and Prof Rebecca Ortiz)
SU Libraries offers numerous research tools and information sources to assist you when investigating advertising. Explore the various sections of this guide, including tabbed sub-pages, for links to leading examples of these tools.

These resources specific to ADV 208 gathered by SU Public Communications Librarian, Michael Pasqualoni.

Advertising Database BEST BETS

adforum logo

world advertising research center logo

Mintel Academic Logo

 

MRI plus logouniversity reporter logo

kantar media srds logo

adspender logo

ebsco logo

 

 

ad age datacenter logo

asrc logo

Kanopy - Video Collection

Kanopy Logo

New at SU since 2014 - eMarketer

 

TVB

T V B Local Media Marketing Solutions

Television Bureau of Advertising
Non profit trade association for the U.S. broadcasting industry.
See especially:

 

News - Nexis Uni

LEARN  MORE ABOUT NEXIS UNI - WHICH IS THE LEXIS NEXIS REPLACEMENT INTERFACE FOR THE DATABASE FORMERLY KNOWN AS LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC:

Nexis Uni Support & Training (LexisNexis)

https://www.lexisnexis.com/en-us/support/nexis-uni/default.page

PDFs with overviews of Nexis Uni, user search tips, permalinking options, etc.

Nexis Uni 101

http://bit.ly/NexisUni101
Current webinar training schedule offered by LexisNexis, introducing Nexis Uni.

For a gateway to additional newspaper databases SU Libraries offers - visit the online research guide site called Newspaper Databases

Notable Audience Research Titles at Bird Library

Now available at Bird Library, 2nd floor - reference collection (for in library use only):

Tv Dimensions Book Cover

TV Dimensions (Media Dynamics, Inc.):  A research annual  – covering all aspects of TV audience and media research.

intermedia dimensions book cover

Intermedia Dimensions (Media Dynamics, Inc.):  Reference book title useful for cross-comparisons of different media types (online, TV, radio, magazines, etc.) for relevant audience demographics, media ‘reach,’ CPM (“Cost per Mile”) data for advertising as well as qualitative comparisons of various media types and implications for media planning.

These slightly older Media Dynamics reference books also available at 2nd Floor reference collection, Bird Library:

media book book jacket

The Media Book (Media Dynamics, Inc.): In a single reference book, this 2014 edition offers quantitative and qualitative aspects of performance for all six major media—TV, radio and magazines, the Internet, newspapers and out-of-home (including digital). Provides media planners and buyers and media sellers with a conciser review of all aspects of media performance including a historical overview, audience reach, demographic appeals and CPMs.  Also  includes proprietary estimates on subjects such as ad exposure factors, ad awareness levels by GRP levels and ad wearout.  Includes some data Media Dynamics obtains via partnerships with other leading research companies like GfK MRI, Experian and Scarborough. 

 

magazine dimensions book jacket

 

Magazine Dimensions (Media Dynamics, Inc.):  Focuses on the effectiveness of magazines as an ad medium.  Includes qualitative data on ad impact, CPM (“Cost per Mile”) estimates by magazine genre, magazine audience demographics and state of the magazine industry discussion.

radio dimensions book jacket

 

Radio Dimensions (Media Dynamics, Inc.):  Cost-per-rating-point-estimates by daypart and demos for 150 markets.   Investigations regarding radio’s reach and frequency capabilities and qualitative distinctions in listener engagement.  Intensified treatment of internet and satellite radio.

 

4As Agency Search

4 As - American Association of Advertising Agencies

4As ("American Association of Advertising Agencies") - Ad Agency Search Engine