Research Guides: GEO 388/688 Geographic Information and Society (Fall 2016): Home

News and Information on the GIS Industry

Listed below are a few links to online newsletters and trade journals on GIS and mapping.

Journals Periodicals Serials Series

GeoRef
Index to the geoscience literature, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
Scopus
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Start with the above two databases to search for articles, but don't limit yourself to just these two. These other database may provide useful articles and papers. Use some of the other subject specific databases available through the Library's Database menu.

ProQuest
Databases covering a broad range of subject areas including business, economics, education, humanities, literature, news, social sciences, science and technology and more.
Access World News
Current and past worldwide news sources, including international, local and regional newspapers, media transcripts, wire service content, college newspaper articles, magazines, blogs, video and audio.

Also look at the Journal links in my GIS subject guide for other journal and reference sources for GIS and cartography.

Journal titles SU currently subscribes to that are focused on cartography and mapping that can be searched in the "Journals" link from the Library's homepage.

Annals of GIS
Cartographic Journal
Cartographic Perspectives
Cartographica
Cartography and Geographic Information Science
Geodesy and Cartography
Imago Mundi
Journal of Maps
Marine Geodesy
Studies in Surveying and Mapping Science
Transactions in GIS

There is also a Cartography subcategory listed under the Geography subject heading in the Earth & Environmental Sciences list found in the Library's Journals List. It will list all the journal titles that the library owns, or has access to, on cartography.

National Academies Press
How to find books associated with the Mapping Sciences Committee (MSC).
Search in this database “Mapping Sciences Committee”, and when the results display, click in the left-hand column, DIVISION, then DIVISION ON EARTH AND LIFE STUDIES and then click BOARD ON EARTH SCIENCES AND RESOURCES. The MSC publications fall under this list of titles.

Web mapping databases from SU Library's Database list

These are mapping databases that SU Library pays an annual subscription to provide access.

PolicyMap
Geographic information system with policy-related data about demographics, real estate, crime, income, jobs, education, energy, and more.
SimplyAnalytics
Four simultaneous users. Users must also create their own personal profile.

Application for mapping, analytics, and data visualization of variables such as demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, technology, and public health. Includes data from Nielsen Claritas, Dun and Bradstreet, Simmons, GFK MRI, Easy Analytic Software (EASI), and Applied Geographic Solutions.
Social Explorer
Tool for creating maps and visualizations related United States demographics.

Interactive web atlases, imagery and aerial photography and geospatial data

Links to tabs from my GIS subject guide. There are many interactive web atlases and geospatial data clearinghouses here. These are free open access web sources.

USGS Earth Explorer
Search engine for locating aerial photography and Landsat imagery from 1920 to the present for the entire country
Selected US web atlases and Geodata sources
This is just the tip if the iceberg when it comes to finding links to web atlases and geospatial data.
Aerial photo links
This is the Air Photo tab from the Library's Map Collection subject guide. It provides links to various data and imagery for New York State and for around the World. Also check out the Antarctica air photo tab.
Explore Census Data
Explore Census Data is the replacement for American Factfinder.

Historical

A few websites that provide access to static historical maps.

Maps in the Library of Congress
Historical maps from across the US and the world - American Memory Project
Early Maps
Links to antiquarian maps broken down by continent and country
David Rumsey Map Collection
Antiquarian maps of North America and other parts of the world. Fantastic Site! Currently over 42,000 maps are available.
Old Maps Online
Brings together scanned images of historical maps from 13 major map collections from around the world from the year 1000-date in one search box with a graphical interface.

Cartography in the Twentieth Century by Mark Monmonier (Editor)
Call Number: GA201 .H53 1987 v.6 - Maps Ref
ISBN: 9780226534695
Publication Date: 2015-05-18
Published in 2015, Volume 6, Cartography in the Twentieth Century continues the "History of Cartography" tradition with a groundbreaking survey of the century just ended and a new full-color, encyclopedic format which covers mapping changes comprehensively, while thoroughly demonstrating the far-reaching effects of maps on science, technology, and society--and vice versa. For more than thirty years, the History of Cartography Project has charted the course for scholarship on cartography, bringing together research from a variety of disciplines on the creation, dissemination, and use of maps.

Contact

John Olson

Email Me

Contact:

358 Bird Library

Individual appointments for in-depth reference inquiries are also welcome through MS Teams or Zoom.

315.443.4818

Subjects: Earth Sciences, Geography, Government Information, Maps and GIS