Skip to main content

GEO 381 - Cartographic Design - (Fall 2017): Home

Intro to map design using graphics to promote and understanding of landscapes and social patterns

Journals Periodicals

Start with the above two databases to search for articles, but don't limit yourself to just these two. These other database may provide useful articles and papers. Use some of the other subject specific databases available through the Library's Database menu.

Also look at the Journal links in my GIS subject guide for other journal and reference sources for GIS and cartography.

Journal titles SU currently subscribes to that are focused on cartography and mapping that can be searched in the "Journals" link from the Library's homepage.

  • Annals of GIS
  • Cartographic Journal
  • Cartographic Perspectives
  • Cartographica
  • Cartography and Geographic Information Science
  • Geodesy and Cartography
  • Imago Mundi
  • Journal of Maps
  • Marine Geodesy
  • Studies in Surveying and Mapping Science
  • Transactions in GIS

There is also a Cartography subcategory listed under the Geography subject heading in the Earth & Environmental Sciences list found in the Library's Journals List.  It will list all the journal titles that the library owns, or has access to, on cartography.

Book Resources

Here are a few book titles that provide excellent examples of cartographic styles. Also browse the Maps Ref collection, Atlas collection and the book stacks on the 3rd floor of Bird in the GA call number range for books that contain collections or carto-bibliographies of maps. These titles will have some excellent examples of cartographic style.

Learning

Contact

John Olson's picture
John Olson
Contact:
358 Bird Library
Syracuse University
222 Waverly Ave
Syracuse, NY 13244
315.443.4818
Social Media:Twitter Page

Free 1-yr ArcGIS student license

SU and SUNY-ESF students can request the software from the Maps/GIS Librarian. The software has a license that will timeout after one year from installation and can be loaded on ANY computer. Contact me at the above e-mail address and I'll get you started

Please select one of the versions of software available.

You will download copies of the ArcGIS software that includes: ArcMap, Spatial Analyst, 3-D Analyst, Geostatistical Analyst, Network Analyst.

Print maps and Atlases