Skip to main content

CFE 700 (Perez) - Race in the Making of American Education : Home

Subject Guides Created by Librarians

This webpage highlights the sources demonstrated in the CFE 700 Library session, February 21, 2013. 

Area and Ethnic Studies Guides

Education Guide

Citation Guide

All Subject Guides (this is also linked from the Library homepage)

Videos and Images

NBC Learn, the education arm of NBC News, makes the global resources of NBC News and the historic film and video archive available to teachers, students, schools and universities. The website has digitized stories from the NBC News archives -- one of the largest news archives in the world, dating back to the 1920s. In addition, collections are updated with current events every day, Monday through Friday, with stories from such celebrated programs as NBC Nightly News, the TODAY show, Meet the Press, Dateline NBC, as well as the networks of MSNBC, CNBC, and Telemundo. A browsable list of collections links to subject areas ranging from economics to environmental sciences.
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
ACCESS NOTE: Ten simultaneous users only.
AP Images is one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. As an essential source of photographs and graphics for professional image buyers, AP Images strives to meet the needs of today's global customer through superior image quality, selection and service.
 
Databases by type (video, image, audio, maps, more)

Popular Press Article Database- Readers Guide Retrospective

Over the past 100 years, Readers� Guide to Periodical Literature has become the ultimate index of subjects in the popular press, has earned the trust of researchers at all levels, and has been hailed by Library Journal as one of the �50 Best Reference Sources for the Millennium.� Its online version, Readers� Guide Retrospective, offers full coverage of the original paper volumes.
 
If the full text is not online in the database, check whether the SULinks button gets you to the full text of the article.  If not, SUlinks should give you a link to search the Library Classic Catalog for the print version of the journal or magazine that contains your article.  If the Classic Catalog shows that the Library has the correct year/volume of the journal or magazine that contains your article, the "Holdings Information" listed will explain whether the volume is on a shelf in the Library (which you can locate and photocopy), in a storage facility (use a Request Form, also linked from the Catalog), or in microform (use the machines on the 3rd floor to view, print, save).
 
Pictures of microfiche and microfilm machines.  Some journals and other historical information is stored compactly on reels or film, which can be displayed on these devices, which are on the 3rd floor of Bird Library.   The Catalog record for a journal will tell you if a journal is in print, microfilm, microfiche, online, or in a storage location. 
 
 
All Databases (also linked from the Library homepage)

Census and Statistical data

Social Explorer

"Social Explorer is a detailed reference tool for current and historical Census data from 1790 to the present. Our tools allow you to explore Census data visually through the use of interactive data maps.  You can also browse and download Census data in convenient formats for offline processing."

Questionnaires used in the Census from 1790-2000  

These can be useful in understanding how race was defined.  You can also get to this information in a somewhat nicer format when you have created a map in Social Explorer by using the "Map Data Information" link in the map key.  Instructions to "marshals", "assistants", "enumerators" and others who collected census data  are also available.

Historical Statistics of the United States 

 A compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources including data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade.  Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. Permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting own particular areas of interest. Chapters are preceded by essays that introduce the quantitative history of their subject, provide a guide to the sources, and offer expert advice on the reliability of the data and the limits that might be placed on their interpretation.  The data series in Historical Statistics of the United States do not have a uniform end date; instead, each table reports the data available at the time the contributor compiled the data. Many series in these volumes are continued on a regular basis with periodic updates and revisions by the agency, group, or individual responsible for the original data. Figures for many of the current series are presented in the Statistical Abstract of the United States, published annually by the U.S. Bureau of the Census.

 Temporal coverage. Contributors were asked to take the data series under their charge as far backward and forward in time as possible. They were also encouraged to include important lapsed series - those that begin and terminate in the past - because such series are sometimes available only in out-of-print documents. Most data series in Historical Statistics of the United States provide annual or decennial data spanning at least twenty years, with the main exceptions being for special topics (the colonial period and the Confederate States of America), for newly developed series providing the only data available to represent an important subject field, and for short series that served as important extensions of longer series.

Subnational data. Because of limitations of space, data are generally not shown for regions, states, or localities. The underlying sources sometimes provide data in finer geographical detail than shown here. Some tables provide data for U.S. census regions or divisions.

 Two tables and one essay of interest

Figure Pa-G School enrollment rates, by race: 1850–1994
Figure Pa-H Educational attainment, by sex, race, and ethnicity: 1940–1997

 Race and Ethnicity, Population, Vital Processes and Education

 

 

Census FAQs Where can I find historical census data on the population?

"In addition to our Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts, 1790 to 1990, for all geographic areas in the United States, there are three major sources of historical decennial census data" as pdfs.

"The first official Census was conducted in 1790 under Thomas Jefferson, who was the Secretary of State. That census, taken by U.S. marshals on horseback, counted 3.9 million inhabitants. Since that time, the decennial Census has been conducted every ten years, generally on April 1 in years ending in a zero."

Numeric Data Services Librarian's US Census Subject Guide- Paul Bern

Numeric Data Services Subject Guide- Paul Bern

Newspapers

All Newspaper Databases

Librarian's Subject Guide to Newspaper Databases- Michael Pasqualoni

 

This collection of newspapers contains a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. They also contain large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
 

Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion. and much more.

 

The Chicago Defender (1905-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. BSC provides the full text backfile, from 1910 to 1975, of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender. Robert Sengstacke Abbott founded the Defender in May 1905 and by the outbreak of the First World War it had become the most widely-read black newspaper in the country, with more than two thirds of its readership based outside Chicago. When Abbott died in 1940, his nephew John Sengstacke became editor and publisher of the Defender, which began publishing on a daily basis in 1956.
 
Search hundreds of newspapers (.pdf) by title and date or by keyword. Database includes the Syracuse Post Standard. Coverage for some papers goes back to the 1700's.

Databases for Primary Sources

Provides in-depth indexing collections of oral history in English from around the world. With future releases, the index will broaden to identify other first-person content, including letters, diaries, memoirs, and autobiographies, and other personal narratives. Includes full-text content when available
 

Government Information

Indexes information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present. Provides full text for many titles, generally from the early 1990's to the present. Includes bills, laws, legislative histories, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register. Includes full text of Congressional Research Service reports, (1916-present); full text of Congressional hearings, (1824-present); full text of Committee Prints, (1830-present); and full text of the Serial Set Collection with Maps, (1789-1969). For a complete description of contents, coverage, and update frequency, consult the online Help section.
 

Music

Music Online is a unified search interface for all music products from Alexander Street Press. Use it to simultaneously search streaming audio in Classical Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound, American Song, and Contemporary World Music as well as digital scores from Classical Scores Library.